Search Unity

  1. Engage, network and learn at Unite Austin 2017, Oct 3 - 5. Get your ticket today!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

Change default folder for Unity Project

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by ConkerJak, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. ConkerJak

    ConkerJak

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    I have 2 hard drives on my computer, the first is an SSD and is almost empty and the second is a classic with more than 1 To free.

    So, I have installed Unity on the second one. But here is my problem : the Unity projects folders are the first one and I can't find any options to change the location of these folders ...

    If anyone knows how to handle it please reply and thank you by advance.
     
  2. CreativeChris

    CreativeChris

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    Hi,

    Currently we have not implemented an option to set the default location of New Unity Projects, yes, it's a frustrating workflow, we are aware of it internally, it's just a lot of other higher priority stuff going on at the moment. :)

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  3. ConkerJak

    ConkerJak

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Ok thank you for the answer.
     
  4. Simon-O

    Simon-O

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Hi,

    I know this isn't a high priority in terms of cool new features - but it's such an annoyance and seems like a simple thing to fix.

    I don't mean a GUI option but make it a registry key that power users can edit. Add the UI later. The 2-phase approach should give anyone who cares enough to Google it a solution with minimal effort on your part.

    In any case, can I register this polite request that a dev with some time at the end of a sprint picks this up?

    Thanks
     
  5. CreativeChris

    CreativeChris

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    364
    There has been some work and improvement in this area, unfortunately I can't disclose that info or share a release date, but it's great that we will finally see an improvement here :).

    Looking forward to it.

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  6. SSix

    SSix

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,

    I have been struggling with the same issue, its not much, but a tiny annoyance. After searching, and reading This:

    I decided to experiment, and came up with this solution that WORKS FOR ME - To create symbolic Junction link in windows.

    This is how its done:
    1. I moved all the files out of Documents folder. (Which also saved space on SSD)
    2. run CMD as Administrator.
    3. mklink /j C:\Users\UserName\Documents d:\Documents.
    4. Moved all the files to d:\Documents

    What it does is create a link between 2 folder, but actual files are stored on D:\ drive. (You have a "Shortcute" to the Folder)

    Read more about mklink.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_symbolic_link

    Good Luck
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
  7. flatplant

    flatplant

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    I've managed to sort this out, at least in Unity 4.x in Windows, with the help of AutoHotkey. This little script will do the trick for you. Note that it only works if you use ALT-F first to open the File menu, then select "New Project" (with with keyboard or mouse) within 5 seconds of hitting ALT-F. (Had to do it this way because unfortunately AHK can't trigger on menu selections specifically, just keypresses).

    Go here for the wonderful AutoHotkey: http://www.autohotkey.com/

    Just replace the string "E:\Unity\Projects\" with whatever path you want to default to (without the quotes).
    Code (csharp):
    1. #IfWinActive ahk_class UnityContainerWndClass
    2. {
    3.   ~!f::
    4.     WinWaitActive Unity - Project Wizard,, 5
    5.     If (ErrorLevel = 0) {
    6.       ControlSetText Edit1, E:\Unity\Projects\, A
    7.       ControlSend Edit1, {end}, A
    8.     }
    9.     Return
    10. }
    Bit of a hack, but does the trick!

    Update: And/or another way, which changes the default path to the new project when you simply click on the input box:
    Code (csharp):
    1. #IfWinActive Unity - Project Wizard ahk_class #32770
    2. {
    3.   ~LButton::
    4.     ControlGetFocus ctrl, A
    5.     If (ctrl = "Edit1") {
    6.       ControlSetText Edit1, E:\Unity\Projects\, A
    7.       ControlSend Edit1, {end}, A
    8.     }
    9.     Return
    10. }
    The above script will change the default path (as above, replace "E:\Unity\Projects\" with whatever you want) as soon as you click in the "Project Location" input box. Unlike the first script, with this one it doesn't matter how you open the new project dialog. The only thing it looks for is a click in the input box.

    These AutoHotkey scripts work for Unity 4.x on Windows.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2015
  8. Shutter

    Shutter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Posts:
    22
    Today, 3.5 years later, is there an official builtin way of changing the default location of Unity projects?
     
    mooninen likes this.
  9. mooninen

    mooninen

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    This is amazing... :cool::cool::cool:
     
  10. ZeRuc

    ZeRuc

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    I am looking to the solution to this problem since I am running out of space on C: drive where my Unity projects are located while my D: drive has over 100 GB of free space. Guess that a symbolic link will have to do :(