Search Unity

Bug Catalog is not downloading updated build assets that have been uploaded to the remote load path

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by HEROTECH70, Jun 18, 2021.

  1. HEROTECH70

    HEROTECH70

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    Our order of steps are as follows:

    1. New Build -> Default build script
    2. Uploading ServerData files to the remote location (a google cloud bucket)
    3. Building Unity Application on Android device
    4. Modifying an addressable prefab on editor
    5. Update a Previous build (on Addressable Groups)
    6. Uploading ServerData files to the remote location

    On our application, before calling LoadAssetAsync on any of our addressables we run a UpdateCatalogs().

    As far as I understand, this should trigger the system to download the new updated uploaded version of the prefab. This sometimes works, and sometimes it doesn't even when reproducing the exact same steps.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2021
  2. HEROTECH70

    HEROTECH70

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    Just a quick update, it used to work at least once, now I can't even get it to work the first time I try.

    I also added a button to run the operation manually while the app is still running, I update the catalog and upload it to our bucket and made sure the new files are available

    yet the operation fails with
    Error Unity Exception encountered in operation CompletedOperation, status=Failed, result= : Content update not available.
     
  3. mondialelectronics123

    mondialelectronics123

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    i got same problem
     
  4. HEROTECH70

    HEROTECH70

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    https://docs.unity.cn/Packages/com.unity.addressables@1.18/manual/InitializeAsync.html?q=Init

    The last step says
    • Loads the ContentCatalog. Optionally checks for updates to the ContentCatalog. By default this check is turned on.
    This doesn't work
    catalog is remote,
    Disable catalog update on startup is unchecked.

    Uninstalling and reinstalling the app on the phone will download the updated assets, if you don't reinstall it will ALWAYS
    return the cached versions.

    manually calling UpdateCatalogs() will result in an exception because there is no update available.
     
  5. TreyK-47

    TreyK-47

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Posts:
    1,820
  6. HEROTECH70

    HEROTECH70

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    Submitted a bug report case number 1345375
     
    Deleted User and TreyK-47 like this.
  7. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Do you have a link to the issue? I couldn't find a way to filter issues by case id.
     
  8. HEROTECH70

    HEROTECH70

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    The issue still hasn't been verified so you won't find it in the unity issue tracker
     
  9. sniffle63

    sniffle63

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Posts:
    365
  10. JGameMaker92

    JGameMaker92

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Posts:
    96
    Addressables are a mess and nothing works the way it should. I’m having the same problem in Unity 2022. It’s only wanting to load what it has cached but not any of the updates I’ve pushed so far. It really shouldn’t be this difficult.
     
    VizSpatial and arufolo-wellovate like this.
  11. EwertonBR

    EwertonBR

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Steps that solved it for me:
    • Change Bundle Naming Mode for each group to "
      Append Hash to Filename
      "
    • Initialize Addressable before "
      CheckForCatalogUpdates
      " :
    Code (CSharp):
    1. await Addressables.InitializeAsync();
    2. await Addressables.CheckForCatalogUpdates();
    • Check the "
      Unique Bundle IDs
      " in Addresssables Settings
    • Compile the Addressables
    • Compile the Player
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2022
    arufolo-wellovate likes this.
  12. TommyMGS

    TommyMGS

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2023
    Posts:
    3
    I was experiencing a similar problem, here's how I fixed it.

    Essentially, I entered my RemoteLoadPath with a traling slash (/) at the end.
    Apparently, when fetching the remote catalog, Unity appends a slash in there regardless if there's a slash already or not.
    On top of that, I was running Unity 2020.3.26 and on that version, when the remote catalog cannot be fetched, Unity fails silently, not giving back any log or error.
    While investigating this bug I tried updating to Unity 2021 and, while the trailing slash bug is still not fixed on that version, at least it fails with an exception, letting you know the URL it's trying to fetch to update the catalog.
    I removed the trailing slash back in Unity 2020 and it all worked.

    Hope it helps, cheers!