Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug (Case 1213954) Scripts are always recompiled when using 2019.3.0f5

Discussion in '2019.3 Beta' started by Kichang-Kim, Jan 23, 2020.

  1. Kichang-Kim

    Kichang-Kim

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,011
    HI. I found that my project is always re-compiled when start-up Unity editor. This makes my workflow extremely slow, especially for tons of batch mode jobs.

    It seems that always re-import some packages (like Android logcat, com.unity.settings and so on). Also I used GooglePlayGames plugin.
     
  2. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,618
    Maybe Unity automatically updates these packages to a newer version while opening the project? I've seen Unity auto-updating packages before. Can you diff the packages.json file before/after running that batch mode job?
     
  3. Kichang-Kim

    Kichang-Kim

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,011
    @Peter77 You are right. I found that Unity always update some script in packages and restore it when opened next time.

    Here is some example:
    com.unity.mobile.android-logcat@1.0.0/Editor/AndroidLogcastConsole.Window.cs:453
    UnityEditorInternal.InternalEditorUtility.RequestScriptReload();

    is changed to

    EditorUtility.RequestScriptReload();
     
  4. Kichang-Kim

    Kichang-Kim

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,011
    Reported as Case 1213954.
     
    Peter77 and LeonhardP like this.
  5. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    756
    Hi @Kichang-Kim,

    Thank you very much for reporting this issue. We were already aware of the problem and we are currently working on fixing it. Give us a couple of weeks to make this a reality in a 2019.3 release.

    Regards,

    Pascal
     
    Kichang-Kim likes this.