Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

(Case 1191723) Package Manager refresh doesn't refresh local packages

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by fherbst, Oct 15, 2019.

  1. fherbst

    fherbst

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Posts:
    359
    Tested on 2019.3.0b2, 0b6, 0b7
    Works on 2019.2.2f1

    I'm working on local packages where new versions are pushed to our own registry.
    In 2019.2.2f1, pressing "refresh" in Package Manager correctly shows updates to the manifest (for example version change, changes to samples, dependencies, ...).
    In 2019.3.0b6, "refresh" doesn't do that anymore. Also, closing/reopening Package Manager doesn't help. Only restarting Unity actually reflects those package.json changes to the UI.

    @okcompute_unity is this desired behaviour? Seems like a bug.

    Edit: I reported a bug, (Case 1191723). This makes working with custom packages pretty much impossible.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2019
  2. fherbst

    fherbst

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Posts:
    359
    Turns out it's even more broken on 2020.1.07a, where changing the version in the manifest afterwards throws one exception per frame in the Editor.

    upload_2019-10-15_20-30-1.png

    Clicking the "select manifest" button even selects the right manifest which shows the new version.
    upload_2019-10-15_20-31-42.png
     
  3. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    605
    It definitely looks like a bug. You did the right thing by entering a bug. Thank you!
     
    fherbst likes this.
  4. fherbst

    fherbst

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Posts:
    359
    @okcompute_unity any news about this? This is a big workflow blocker for us as working with our own code in packages is really hard with this. 2019.3.0b11 went out and this bug is still in there.
     
  5. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    605
    Hi @fherbst

    No, this hasn't yet to be fixed.:( I'll notify the team in charge of fixing this bug that you are waiting for it and that you are blocked!

    Regards,

    Pascal
     
    fherbst likes this.