Search Unity

  1. Curious about what's going to be in 2020.1? Have a look at the 2020.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Want to see 2020.1b in action? Sign up for our Beta 2020.1 Overview Webinar on April 20th for a live presentation from our evangelists and a Q&A session with guests from R&D.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Interested in giving us feedback? Join our online research interviews on a broad range of topics and share your insights with us.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug [Case:1190110] Unity Error and Crash when JetBrain Rider

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by Lurking-Ninja, Oct 9, 2019.

  1. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4,645
    Here is what happened (case: 1190110):

    - I thought I will try the Rider because I heard many good things about it.
    - I installed the Rider
    - Restarted my computer at the end
    - When my OS (Windows 10 Home) came online
    - Started Unity 2020.1 (playing around)
    - Opened the Package Manager and Installed the Rider extension
    - Opened the Edit/Preferences/External tools.
    - I have set the editor to the Rider
    - Result:
    Capture.PNG
    - At this point I have closed the preferences because I couldn't go back to the full window.
    - I created a Test.cs file
    - I hit the ENTER so Rider would open up and I can edit the file.
    - Unity Editor crashed at this point.
     
  2. SugoiDev

    SugoiDev

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    315
    I'm also on Windows and use Rider with Unity 2020 and didn't notice anything unusual.
     
  3. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,447
    It's installed by default, why did you have to install it?

    Did you deinstall it and install it again before filing a bug report?

    Did this happen after upgrading a project? How did you upgrade your project? Did you delete the Library folder before upgrading (keep only the Assets, Packages and ProjectSettings folders, upgrade and load your scene afterwards)?
     
  4. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4,645
    I uninstalled it back when I installed the Unity version and started the test project. I always keep the minimum number of packages I need.

    BTW, after OS restart the preferences window fix itself and Rider starts up normally from the project.
     
unityunity