Search Unity

(Case 1117559) Sprites showing up as solid pink in Packed Play Mode

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by chanon81, Jan 16, 2019.

  1. chanon81

    chanon81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    168
    Hello,

    I don't know if this is a bug or if I'm doing something wrong.

    For instanced prefabs that are in packed assets, they are coming out as solid pink when using Packed Play Mode.

    Expected result (correct in Fast and Virtual modes):
    upload_2019-1-16_12-33-38.png

    Actual result in Packed Play Mode:
    upload_2019-1-16_12-33-11.png

    It looks like this problem happens only when the iOS platform is selected.

    Submitted as bug Case 1117559.

    Since I am building an iPhone game, being able to properly test Addressables in Packed Play Mode without having to build an actual build every time is very important to reduce development time.
     
  2. M_R

    M_R

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Posts:
    559
    packed play mode uses the built bundles. your bundles are buit for iOS, therefore the shaders are compiled for iOS, and iOS shaders are not compatible with pc (therefore the pink).
    Unity should fix loading in editor so that the shader is replaced with the editor one.

    as a workaround, you can manually switch the shader of your materials:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. foreach (material in bundle)
    2.     material.shader = Shader.Find(material.shader.name);
    or build the bundles for standalone when testing in packed mode (I do this, as no runtime script is required)
     
    taptpci and chanon81 like this.
  3. chanon81

    chanon81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    168
    MNNoxMortem likes this.
  4. Cleverlie

    Cleverlie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Posts:
    219
    this is happening to me even when the build target is Standalone64, and I'm running the editor in windows 64bit. any ideas?
     
    MNNoxMortem likes this.
  5. unity_bill

    unity_bill

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Posts:
    1,053
    I think this is an unrelated issue. The initial ticket was clearly due to platform incompatibility. Post the steps you've taken here. If it looks like a bug, you may need to file an actual ticket, but if it's just a workflow problem, perhaps we can solve it here.
     
    Cleverlie and MNNoxMortem like this.