Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

(Case 1107835) Undo prefab change does not work

Discussion in 'Prefabs' started by Peter77, Dec 8, 2018.

  1. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,313
    Undo'ing prefab changes does not work anymore.

    Reproduce
    • Open attached user project
    • Select Assets/Cube.prefab
    • Click "Open Prefab" in Inspector
    • Disable the "Box Collider"
    • Click the "Scenes" button in the Scene view toolbar
    • Execute "Edit > Undo" until no further Undo steps are available
    • Select Assets/Cube.prefab
    • Click "Open Prefab" in Inspector
    Observe the box collider is disabled, even though "Undo" should have undone this modification.

    Actual
    Undo does not work with prefab modifications.

    Expected
    Undo works always.
     

    Attached Files:

    Lars-Steenhoff and LeonhardP like this.
  2. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,021
    Did this work in previous 2018.3 versions and are other prefab related undo operations affected or is it specific to this example?
     
  3. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,313
    I dont know. But it works with 2017, I verified it with 2017.4.10f1.

    Every prefab modification I tried cannot be undone. I tried turning Components off, changing GameObject Layer, changing Transform Scale, changing "Receive Shadow" in a Mesh Renderer.

    It seems any modification that were made in "the prefab editing mode", cannot be undone after leaving the prefab editing mode.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018
  4. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,021
    This behaviour is a known limitation of the current design. It might change in future versions.
     
    Peter77 likes this.