Search Unity

Carrara animation to FBX procedure?

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by CarlL, Nov 26, 2008.

1. CarlL

CarlL

Hello,

I'm new to Unity, and trying to see if I can get an assets pipeline going with the tools I have at hand, without spending and extra 2k on Maya for my Mac... I have Lightwave but I hate it, I normally use Carrara so I was happy to see that listed as a program that could work with Unity.

With the fbx exporter I am able to import files into Unity that have bones attached. I can move the bones in Unity, and animate the figure in Unity using the Animation timeline.

I've been unable to ever get an animation to import from Carrara, though.

Is there a particular way of structuring the file and saving it, and importing it such that I can get my bone animations in?

Any suggestions are appreciated!

2. CarlL

CarlL

So, I take it there is no way?

3. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Have you verified that Carrara is exporting the animation in the FBX file? I haven't used Carrara in a long while, but the last time I did (maybe a year ago?) its FBX export wasn't complete. UV maps weren't exporting and neither was animation. But its been a long while since then and there have been a couple of updates since. I'd take your FBX file and try to import it with something else, like maybe Cheetah 3D (use the demo version if you don't own it).

That's what I would try...

4. CarlL

CarlL

Thanks for the reply.

It turns out that the Carrara fbx exporter has improved since you last used it in that it exports the Model, UV's, bones and Weights. All it's missing is the animation. I discovered that I could animate an imported object right in Unity, which is GREAT, but maybe not the professional way to do things. I couldn;t seem to break that sort of animation into clips...