Search Unity

Cardboard not giving realistic scale

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by sv54, Aug 29, 2018.

1. sv54

sv54

I'm new to Unity and test building a Cardboard, Unity->iOS app.
    So far, my test is failing to get the correct visual angle. My objects are too big.

Test: put a 1cm object 57cm away
    If working: the object should be about 1-degree (visual angle)...given a device FOV of 90-degrees, then the object should be 1/90th the total FOV
    Instead it's 1/6th of the FOV on the iphone and 1/16th the FOV in the Unity preview window

Details:

Import Google Cardboard SDK package

Assume, define 1 unit=1 meter.

1. place the mono-camera at z=0...assuming Unity-GVR SDK puts the L,R cameras at z=0 and the appropriate x,y offsets

2. put a (0.01, 0.01, 0.01) (x,y,z) plane at 0.57 units = 57 cm

3. set the FOV to 90 (the cardboard per lens FOV)

4. build to iOS

5. scan QR for my specific Cardboard viewer

The result should be that the plane takes up 1/90th of the visual field. Since assuming 0.01 units = 1cm, then 0.01 units = 1 cm = 1 visual degree at 57 cm distance.

Not sure if this is a problem with how I setup Unity or an issue on the iOS side.

I'd like to understand how Unity is meant to work such that my unit acts like a meter in this test case.

unity_scale 1.20.53 PM.png

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Probably your FOV isn't actually 90 degrees. The FOV is set by the XR system when in VR mode; what you set for it in Unity doesn't matter.

3. sv54

sv54

Thanks, but my image is about an order of magnitude off from the likely FOV for the device... which I think is more like 50 degrees, not 90 that’s often reported. Still the image should take up 1/50th of the viewing plane not 1/6th.

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Ah. You're assuming a plane is 1 unit wide. It's not; it's 10 units wide.

Try it with a cube, and I bet it'll work as expected.

5. sv54

sv54