Search Unity

Car Game - Nicotine Stained White Knuckle Ride.

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by RobbieDingo, Jun 2, 2008.

1. RobbieDingo

RobbieDingo

Howdy, (sorry about the post title, couldn't think of anything else to put).

Thought I’d post a video screen capture from a driving game I've been working on...

http://blip.tv/file/get/RobbieDingo-CarGameTest357.mov (Higher Quality)

http://www.youtube.com/v/uywbXRniMhU (YouTube, Low Quality)

Yes it’s still very rough round the edges, I put this together in the demo version time of Unity to test what is possible - probably have to put it on hold now for a while as my demo is about to expire (but going to save up for the pro version then start this game for real from scratch).

I’m completely new to game development, but a quick learner, my experience in 3d/texturing/scripting, etc comes from SecondLife (Virtual World) and off the back of a cornflakes packet.... but had a lot of fun putting this together.

Spent most of my time getting the car physics and weighting right.

With the exception of the last crash clip, this was all captured in real time in one take, I’m using trip-wires to trigger camera angle changes to give a more cinematic feel. There are quite a few soundfiles attached to the car, with different roll-off settings, creating some good engine sound effects as the car flies by...

Anyways, till the next time....

Kind regards.

Rob

Attached Files:

2. Thomas-Pasieka

Thomas-Pasieka

I am liking it a lot (so far). Looks like you got the physics down very well. I really dig the current state. In my opinion the best "car/driving" thread I've seen so far on here....looks VERY promising!

Thomas

3. RobbieDingo

RobbieDingo

Thanks for the comments Thomas, appreciated.

4. crockett

crockett

Looks pretty good. Looks like you could turn it into a cool car chase type game.

5. 64746c

64746c

Those are some nice physics! What setup are you using (wheel colliders, raycasting...)?

6. RobbieDingo