Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.1 has arrived! Read about it here
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Scriptable Render Pipeline improvements, Texture Mipmap Streaming, and more! Check out what we have in store for you in the 2018.2 Beta.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. If you couldn't join the live stream, take a peek at what you missed.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Car crashing through fences

Discussion in 'Physics' started by SomerenV, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. SomerenV

    SomerenV

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Posts:
    52
    Hey all! I've got a problem that I can't seem to get fixed. I created a little wooden barricade for a car to smash through, but I don't want the car to be affected by it (at all). This is the barricade:



    The car can destroy it. All parts are connected with Fixed Joints but the problem is that the car severely slows down when it hits the barricade. What's the best way to avoid this? Could it be that I approached this all wrong?

    Car mass is 3 (it's how the vehicle script works, so can't really change it that much) Barricade parts mass are 0.1.
     
  2. dgoyette

    dgoyette

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    480
    Well, you should start by reducing the mass further. With the ratios you have between the car and the barricade, that's kind of like a car crashing into something that weighs 2-300 pounds. That's going to slow the thing down.

    I assume there's no drag on the barricade? That would also slow it down.

    Honestly, a car having a mass of 3 seems pretty odd to me though...
     
  3. SomerenV

    SomerenV

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Posts:
    52
    I'm using Randomation Vehicle Physics and the default mass is 1. Everything is handled in the script itself. But for arcade handling it's one hell of a package. I'll try and see if I can change things a bit to make it work better with a higher mass. Thanks for the reply!