Search Unity

Capsule collider + rigidbody goes through colliders when walking under ramps etc.

Discussion in 'Physics' started by eses, Aug 11, 2015.

1. eses

eses

Like the topic says - I've been testing a mecanim setup for 3rd person game and noticed this. I have a character with capsule collider, rigidbody, and a script that modifies position of object and when I walk under a ramp, it's possible to walk under it and character won't stop moving but walks through the ramp... (instead of hitting his head to bottom ramp). Character can walk on top of the ramp without any problems.

I'm moving character with transform.Translate, might this be the reason? I just find that rigidbody addforce didn't quite work like I wanted.

Any ideas?

thanks in advance!

2. HiddenMonk

HiddenMonk

Last edited: Aug 15, 2015
  3. eses

eses

HiddenMonk: Thanks, I'll check the link!

Overall, I think I'd like to avoid using rigidbodies (but, apparently - I can't). I'm quite new to this stuff.

Using addForce causes all kinds of "physics object" effects which I'd like to avoid (= to keep things simple so that I can manage it...). Seem like I'll have counter many effects caused by physics system.

When I make my character run, it becomes clear that turns and sudden changes in speed are not that easy to handle. Or how to do it is not obvious. Character feels slippery. I'm thinking about using drag.

Using addForce also makes contacts with walls harder to handle - If I make character run diagonally against a wall, if it's touching wall it will turn like a byou towards wall which looks bad. I don't think I had this with transform.Translate. Maybe modifying friction helps.

Also, using rb.MovePosition, does not seem to be working any better than transform.Translate, which is bit strange. It has exactly the same problem. Maybe I just have to stick with addForce or manipulating rigidbody velocity?

4. HiddenMonk

HiddenMonk