Search Unity

Bug Can't use official installer: not enough space in /tmp

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by Nekojimi, Jan 6, 2019.

  1. Nekojimi

    Nekojimi

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi there,

    I'm having trouble using the official installer; it seems that, no matter what you set the "download to" location to, the installer will always attempt to download to /tmp. The issue is that my /tmp partition is only 300MB (because when I installed Linux I never thought any programs would need more than that amount of space.

    Resizing the partition is sadly not an option, and it seems that the installer doesn't respect the TMP, TEMP, or TEMPDIR environment variables (so I can't force it to use a different directory).

    Is there any way around this issue?
     
  2. nilsjh

    nilsjh

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I also have /tmp on a separate partition, tried to set the TEMP, TMP & TEMPDIR - but the enviroment variables are not respected when starting UnityHub (v.2.2.2) from shell.

    I also tried a workaround script provided at http://www.tuxad.de/blog/archives/2...nstallation_issue_not_enough_space/index.html ,but the installer stalls in the middle of the download because /tmp is full.

    Hope you can fix this bug and provide some way to parse a TMP enviroment variable to the AppImage
     
  3. phmiku

    phmiku

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi there,
    simply remount /tmp until your download is finished:

    a) Either using space of your home-Partition:

    mkdir ~/TMP
    sudo mount -o bind ~/TMP /tmp
    ( Install here ... )
    sudo umount /tmp


    b) Or using space of your RAM (Having 8G should be sufficient.)

    sudo mount -t tmpfs tmpfs /tmp
    ( Install here ... )
    sudo umount /tmp


    As a permanent solution:

    Either making /tmp a ramdisk with a maximum capacity of 1500 MB:
    sudo echo "tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,size=1500M 0 0" >> /etc/fstab


    Or making /tmp reside in /home/tmp and thus share the same partition.
    sudo mkdir /home/tmp
    sudo echo "/home/tmp /tmp none bind 0 0" >> /etc/fstab


    Use sudo mount /tmp for changes to take effect immediately.

    Hope that helped.
    Regards.
     
    nilsjh likes this.
  4. nilsjh

    nilsjh

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the suggestions!

    I got the environment variable to work when I specified it inline when running the UnityHub AppImage;
    $ TEMP=/disk/unitydl/ ~/Applications/UnityHub.AppImage


    After downloading, Unity installed itself just fine. However I hope that Unity will someday publish the download links for Linux, alongside MacOS & Windows as they do today.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2020
unityunity