Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
Unity's version control component has been upgraded to Plastic SCM.

Can´t upload because of server changes (I did not make)

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by Cascho01, Dec 9, 2021.

  1. Cascho01

    Cascho01

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,347
    I can´t upload because there are server changes and I am forced to sync before.

    upload_2021-12-9_11-27-42.png

    Unfortunately there were no changes uploaded.
    Not sure where it comes from, but I just updated Visual Studio Editor from the package manager.

    Any way to see these changes before syncing?

    Any solution to get rid of the changes besides setting up a whole new cloud-project?
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2021
  2. Danny327

    Danny327

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Posts:
    78
    Hi, Cascho!
    You can check all published changes in the Collab's history panel, or in the timeline page of your dashboard.
     
  3. Cascho01

    Cascho01

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,347
    The latest entry in the timeline is uploaded by myself.
    So there should not be any hint to sync - right?
     
  4. ValeryNikulina

    ValeryNikulina

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2020
    Posts:
    138
    Sometimes Collaborate forces syncing to make sure everything is correct. If you don't want those changes - as a workaround for your issue I'd suggest to do the following:

    1. Close all Unity instances
    2. Rename your Project folder and keep as a backup
    3. Open the Unity Editor and download a fresh copy of your Project (This should now be your latest revision)
    4. Close the Unity Editor once the download is complete
    5. Copy and paste your Assets and ProjectSettings folders from your backup to your new download
    6. Reopen the Unity Editor and publish changes that have been identified

    Because Collaborate only allows first synching/downloading someone else's changes first and then uploading your own changes, there's no way of publishing without doing this first. The workaround helps you to save the local changes over the ones that are in the Collaborate right now.
     
  5. Cascho01

    Cascho01

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,347
    Thanks, your workaround is comprehensible but unsatisfactory, especially when the project has a lot of assets.
    There should be a better way:
    Wouldn´t it be easy to give us an option to discard/refuse the latest revision on the server and simply do an upload?

    Nevertheless Unity Collaboration will be replaced by Plastic SCM and I hope this feature is available there.....?
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2021