Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't type into text fields in the inspector

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by CTCuberHD, Oct 2, 2019.

1. CTCuberHD

CTCuberHD

Whenever the inspector is attached to another window (if that's how you say it) i can not type in the inspector. i can however change values by clicking and dragging my mouse but that is much less accurate. But when i drag the inspector out so its just a separate floating window everything works perfectly fine and i can type again. i'm a beginner and was working on my first full project as this happened so kind of annoying that unity is like that to me on my first game.

rashaad23367 likes this.
  2. RuruKawaii123

RuruKawaii123

The same thing happens to me!! It happens when I click the X button to close Unity or any of those 3 buttons. Nobody answered this? That bug is very annoying...

ImShinx and rashaad23367 like this.
  3. karl_jones

karl_jones

Unity Technologies

Please file a bug report so we can investigate.

BestTess likes this.
  4. ishaanbose123

ishaanbose123

I faced the same problem. The solution is :
    1) go to layout.
    2) set the layout to default.
    3) now everything is working again.

I think setting it to default defaults everything.

5. tjduffy4

tjduffy4

That worked instantly thank you

CarfunkledFlip1 and sbrodie like this.
  6. whoisxiri

whoisxiri

Thanks, I had the same problem and this worked! Does anyone knows what's the cause?

7. A3miz

A3miz

Thank You soooooooooooo much
    you saved my life

luireed likes this.
  8. AdamBebko

AdamBebko

I had this issue in 2020.1.11f1 setting layout to default fixed it as well.

9. martinmarty

martinmarty