Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

ProBuilder Cant Select Face or Verticie

Discussion in 'World Building' started by renman3000, Sep 9, 2019.

  1. renman3000

    renman3000

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Posts:
    6,506
    Hi there,
    For some reason, I can not select my shapes, desired face, nor verticie and I can't see why.
    Any ideas?

    * I can select the whole object, or a group of faces (drag over). using 4.1.0, Unity 2019.2.4f1
     
  2. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    712
    Hi! Sorry, we had a bug slip by in that version related to prefs - fixed in the latest!
     
    renman3000 likes this.
  3. wtksana_unity

    wtksana_unity

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    same problem in pb4.1.0 unity 2019.3.0b3
     
  4. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    712
    renman3000 likes this.
  5. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    712
    Note: you can reset PB prefs as a workaround fix :)
     
    renman3000 likes this.
  6. wtksana_unity

    wtksana_unity

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    4
  7. renman3000

    renman3000

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Posts:
    6,506
    Thank you!
     
  8. renman3000

    renman3000

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Posts:
    6,506


    Correction,
    this does work!! I had actually missed this.
    Thank you!
     
  9. Claytonious

    Claytonious

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    695
    What does this actually mean?
     
  10. Claytonious

    Claytonious

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    695
    For anyone else who lands here, "reset PB prefs" means open Unity preferences, select ProBuilder, click the tiny gear icon in the upper right, and choose "Reset All". You will get a warning that makes it sound and look like you are resetting all of your Unity preferences, but it's only Probuilder, so say yes.

    Then suddenly you can select faces and vertices again.

    I had to do this even in Unity 2019.3.0f2. I was very confused for an hour as to why Probuilder simply wouldn't work anymore. I would bet a great many users have tried it, run into this problem, and just assumed Probuilder doesn't work without coming here to find this workaround.
     
    gabrielw_unity and renman3000 like this.
  11. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    712
    Thanks Claytonious for clarifying that, much appreciated :)
     
  12. Exile-of-Broken-Sky

    Exile-of-Broken-Sky

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    It seems that when you set an object to certain layers, this bug occurs. At least for me, the default layer allows probuilder to select face/edge/vertex, but on some custom layers I made and set the object to, probuilder would no longer register the object's parts. Upon returning to default layer, or a layer that didn't cause the bug, I could again edit the mesh normally. My problem layer was layer 9

    I'm using Unity 2019.2.17f1 Personal, and using the preview package of ProGrids as well.
     
  13. Jawirast

    Jawirast

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I couldn't select faces but found out my issue was that the cubes were in a custom layer a created called ground. Changing the layer back to default let me select faces again
     
  14. jkh0208

    jkh0208

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    Still broken for me on the latest version of Unity and probuilder. Merge feature breaks ability to select vertices.
     
  15. adamwilks

    adamwilks

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Installed the latest release of Unity (2019.3.13f1) yesterday, thought I'd try out ProBuilder today for UV editing and think I've come across this bug. Confused the heck out of me for a while.

    Don't suppose there is a fix due any time soon? I tried the work around above (reset prefs) and it made no difference.
     
  16. chrismarch

    chrismarch

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Posts:
    358
    yeah, also on 2019.3.13f1, and I am dragging to select verts in the scene view and it either gets the wrong set, or deselects the object. behavior changes if I change from perspective to iso
     
  17. adamwilks

    adamwilks

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Seems as though a pull request (linked to from above) containing a fix was merged back in January so I guess this is either a regression or a new bug, although I note that the pull request description states it is "still unknown how these cases occur".
     
  18. browizard

    browizard

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Can confirm Unity v2019.3.13f1 cant select faces and reseting pref does not work.
     
  19. browizard

    browizard

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Ah I see this is just me being a noob not having worked with PB or Unity before. I had to select "Build" in the shape tool dialogue panel before I could select faces.
     
unityunity