Search Unity

Can't see player.

Discussion in '2D' started by Adims, Jan 1, 2019.

1. Adims

Adims

Firstly, I am new to programming, and game development/design. I am in the process of self-learning via watching videos and reading forums.

Now in the sample game I am making I am having a huge issue. I am using a program called Tiled to make the layout of my 2D RPG game, and I am using SuperTiled2Unity / Tiled2Unity to export my files from my computer to Unity. Now I figured out how to get the map on Unity, and how to move it around, but my problem now is that my Character is always behind my map, no matter what layer I put him on (even if I create a new layer) unless of course I mess with the (Z) position and push the map behind my Character (which I don't want to do since it is a 2D game, and then that messes with the layer values in my map)

Can anyone please help me with this issue?
    (PS: Sorry if this is not the correct place to post the question.)
    Player troubles.png

2. WheresMommy

WheresMommy

How does your hierarchy look like? Is the player below the map or above?

3. Adims

Adims

In my hierarchy the it goes Scene > Camera > Map > Player (I have tested moving these around and also messing with the sorting layer, and nothing worked, only success I had was when I messed with the Z axis)

4. eses

eses

@Adims

Hi.

There are several ways to sort and order sprites.

It sounds like you haven't read the docs, and it also sounds like you haven't checked the official tutorial videos either.

Just google "unity sprite sorting" and you'll start finding links and keywords. Check these, and you'll know how to sort sprites.

5. WheresMommy

WheresMommy

Maybe give us a screenshot of the player and the tile inspector

6. Adims

Adims

Player troubles.png

7. WheresMommy

WheresMommy