Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

"Can't retrieve data" status using Unity ads as mediated network on AdMob

Discussion in 'Unity Ads & User Acquisition' started by mmillington, Aug 9, 2021.

  1. mmillington

    mmillington

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Hey everyone,

    I was wondering if anyone else has run into this issue I'm facing. I've tried to get in touch with AdMob about this issue but they I haven't been able to get a (useful) response from them.

    We're using Google AdMob as our ads mediator and Unity Ads as one of the mediated networks. On one of our mediation groups (specifically for interstitial ads), the Unity ads network has a status of 'Optimized' with a nice green tick.

    However, our other mediation group (one for rewarded ads) has the status of 'Can't retrieve data'. We have checked and triple checked all our setup, gone through the documentation (checked ad unit mapping, reporting credentials etc) and we can't find any reason why it would report that status.

    I've attached a screenshot of the Admob dashboard to illustrate the issue.

    I wouldn't come and ask here but Admob are no help and was hoping somebody else might have come acroess this before.

    Thanks in advance,

    Matt
     

    Attached Files:

  2. farazk86

    farazk86

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    195
  3. mmillington

    mmillington

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Hi farazk86,

    Sorry to see others getting this issue as well, but hopefully one of us will get to the bottom of it. I've also got a thread on the Admob community about the issue but no good answers:

    https://support.google.com/admob/th...zation-status-of-can-t-retrieve-data?hl=en-GB

    Have you used the Mediation Test Suite at all? I remember using it when I first started using AdMob and everything seemed ok according to that, although now when I try to launch it it fails with a NoSuchFieldException.
     
  4. farazk86

    farazk86

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    195
    Thanks for asking the question on Admob community. Sucks that they gave that non-helpful response and considered it a solution. I've also asked on stackoverflow - hopefuly someone has a solution, if I get any I'll update the thread here

    I havent used the test suite sorry
     
  5. farazk86

    farazk86

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    195
    Hi,

    So I may have fixed it as the cant retrieve data message changed and I got a couple impressions. Maybe in a day or two when its better optimized it starts working as expected.

    Go to your Unity Dashboard for Monetization -> Open your project for this game -> Project Settings -> Test Mode

    Then select "Override client test mode".

    Select Force Test Mode On. Save

    And then Force Test Mode Off.

    Then after a day the cant retrieve data disappeared and I started getting impressions
     
    mmillington likes this.
  6. mmillington

    mmillington

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Hi farazk86,

    Brilliant news. I'll give that a try myself and see if that also solves the issue for me as well. :)

    Thanks,

    Matt

    Edit: Unfortunately that method didn't resolve the issue for me after waiting about 4 days. Hopefully it will help others though.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2021
    wanrclhnyd and farazk86 like this.
  7. gmyrzamutov

    gmyrzamutov

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi guys, Did you resolve this issue? I have same problem. My Interstitial mediation group work perfectly, but banner mediation group doesn't work with same error
     
  8. gwyn_developer

    gwyn_developer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Hi guys, I'm also facing this same issue. Have you guys found any solution for that??
     
  9. ElemobTechnology

    ElemobTechnology

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Same issue +1
    Does anybody have a update about this issue? thanks
     
  10. wana7262

    wana7262

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    103
    anyone got it fixed till date?
     
    robiullah2244 likes this.
  11. robiullah2244

    robiullah2244

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Any fix? I am also facing this issue. My Interstitial mediation is working fine but not the Banner mediation.