Search Unity

Can't open the console, at all...

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by SkyMan77, Jun 11, 2018.

1. SkyMan77

SkyMan77

Hi, i'm fairly new to Unity, and installed the latest version : 2018.1.0 of 2.

But i have a problem...
    When i want to create a new project or choose to open an already created one, like the Standard exemple we all have, i can't open the console... CTRL + Shift + C doesn't work.

Any ideas how i can solve my problem?

rahul_1223 likes this.
  2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

What happens when you select it from the Window menu?

EDIT: And what does opening the console have to do with opening or creating a project? I don't see how those are related.

rahul_1223 likes this.
  3. SkyMan77

SkyMan77

I think my explanation was wrong, sorry.

I have the console tab at the lower half of my screen. But when i tap the different errors, it should open a new window to allow me to correct it. Isn't that window also called Console? It's that window that doesn't show up.

4. Ryiah

Ryiah

When you double click (or tap) on one of the messages related to code it should open the appropriate program you have installed for handling code assuming it's been installed and Unity has been configured to handle it. By default Unity knows how to handle Mono Develop (only for releases prior to 2018) and Visual Studio (older and newer releases of Unity).

5. SkyMan77

SkyMan77

Nope it does nothing. I have the latest Visual Studio Community (2017 if i remember correctly). But nothing happen when i double click on the different errors.

I uninstalled and reinstalled both Unity and Visual Studio, but that didn't work.

6. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Not all errors relate to something in your source code. Why don't you copy one of the errors and paste it here, so we can see what you're dealing with?

jhocking likes this.
  7. SkyMan77

SkyMan77