Search Unity

Can't open Javascript!

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by gamma3894, Jul 31, 2012.

1. gamma3894

gamma3894

I'm working on a platform game with the help of a platform tutorial, and I wanted to make a script called Platform Controller for my player. But every time I try to edit it, this pop-up window comes out:

Windows Script Host

Script: C:/Users/TOSHIBA/Documents/New Unity Project/Assets/PlatformController.js
    Line: 1
    Char: 1
    Error: Invalid character
    Code: 800A03f6
    Source: Microsoft JScript compilation error

I am completely new to Unity and I have no idea what the above means. Can someone tell me what this means and how can I solve this problem?

Thank you!

2. UnityCoder

UnityCoder

Just post ur script with Code Tag. So people can see ur code and tell u what is the problem. OK..

3. gamma3894

gamma3894

Umm.. I'm sorry but how do you post your script with a Code Tag and what is a Code Tag? Also, I haven't added anything to the script since I'm not able to open it.

4. UnityCoder

UnityCoder

Just click on Reply>>Go Advance and now here u find so many options or u can also paste ur code directly, but its not look good.

5. gamma3894

gamma3894

Okay, so I've attached the script but that's not exactly my problem. The problem is: from my own computer, I'm not able to open or edit the script because of some Microsoft Visual problem like the above.

Attached Files:

6. Zerot

Zerot

erm, it looks like you are trying to open the js file in internet explorer. If you double click a js file in unity, it should open it in monodevelop. You can also use any other text editor to edit the file. Just don't double click it in the explorer.

7. Graham-Dunnett

Graham-Dunnett

Administrator

Hi gamma3894,