Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't find 'Terrain Tools' package

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Waterlane, May 29, 2019.

  1. Waterlane

    Waterlane

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    188
    wyckster likes this.
  2. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,403
    You did activate Advanced -> Show preview packages?

    pp.png
     
  3. Waterlane

    Waterlane

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    188
    Yes - that's all done>>>
    (I've searched for 'terrain' in packages as well and no luck)

    (I'm using the 3D render pipeline - does that matter?)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. XiaoxiLiu

    XiaoxiLiu

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    The screenshot shows your package manager's last update was on May 20, which was before the Terrain Tools package released. Maybe try restarting package manager or Unity to force a refresh.
     
    Waterlane likes this.
  5. Waterlane

    Waterlane

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    188
    Yes - that's fixed it.
    I removed the package manager window and added it again - though it was using the latest package manager UI version (v2.1.2) - perhaps this should be looked at as a feature/bug/issue. It's likely this type of thing could happen to other people without them realising as well (I've now got other packages showing as having updates - which were not showing that before I reopened package manager...)
     
  6. dubbeldutch64

    dubbeldutch64

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thx for this hint!
     
  7. frajer2464

    frajer2464

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    what if I click on advanced but there is only: show dependencies and reset packages to default. There are no: show preview packages! What should I do? Don't know if it matters but I am on a mac.
     
    nachimore34 likes this.
  8. noyogiisMYusername

    noyogiisMYusername

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    21
    What version of unity are you using?
     
  9. vladalejnikov

    vladalejnikov

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Unity, it's just terrible! Do you know something about UI? I cant find a package for two hours and It's resolved by more than 5 steps! I had to turn on a parameter in preferences that called "Preview packages". What?!
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2020
    zeropointblack and wyattt_ like this.
  10. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,403
    Just in case anyone searches it in 2020.2:

    * open Package Manager
    * click the Gear Icon
    * click Advanced Project Settings

    pacman 0.png

    In the upcoming (or choose it directly) Project Settings dialog

    * select Enable Preview Packages

    pacman 1.png

    Then the Terrain Tools show up for "Packages: Unity Registry" in the Package Manager.
     
  11. SgtLame

    SgtLame

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Posts:
    129
    Thanks a lot!
     
  12. klodqoshku

    klodqoshku

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    thank you, that helped
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  13. pukimusic007

    pukimusic007

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks, it works
     
  14. zeropointblack

    zeropointblack

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Posts:
    205
    this is beyond stupid. and it says 3.0 thats a PREVIEW? unreal. how about finish it. whats taking so long.

    ... thanks.
     
    wyattt_ likes this.
  15. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    424
    Hello there. We agree that this is as far from optimal as we can get for our users. This is on our immediate near-term roadmap though we're not yet ready to share a release date. We will make an announcement as soon as we have more information. Cheers
     
    HHuuCCi and DaLexis like this.
  16. zeropointblack

    zeropointblack

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Posts:
    205
    sounds great. any chance you can have the previously selected brush STAY ACTIVE when i click away from my terrain and come back later to paint some more? currently, my brush keeps going back to something i used hours ago like a mountain stamp for some reason. i think it should remember your previously used brush.

    also, the shift SMOOTH shortcut does nothing. maybe a 1 pixel blur radius. it needs to REFERENCE the settings under the smooth section, so we can see it actually doing something to the terrain.

    please have them fix these two issues. they make it almost impossible to quickly make terrain.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
    wyattt_ likes this.
  17. ahmodmyd

    ahmodmyd

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    That worked for me thanks, man.
    I'm using unity 2020.2.1f1
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  18. Middelbo

    Middelbo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for this!
    Also: If you have package manager open in a floating window, clicking advanced settings WILL OPEN BEHIND THE PACKAGE MANAGER WINDOW! Grrr.
     
  19. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,403
    I only notice it from the notifications I get from the likes of my post, but maybe someone should consider that the whole preview thing was a very bad decision?
     
    wyattt_ likes this.
  20. WillSMashU

    WillSMashU

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    After enabling " preview packages" checkbox under advance options I see nothing to do with "Packages: Unity Registry" under Package Manager. Why the F*** is half my time In Unity trying to jump through hoops? How many hours before I can get more tools with my brushes. I guess I'll just stick with two options for my brushes for now cool thanks.
     
  21. HIBIKI_entertainment

    HIBIKI_entertainment

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    595

    I've just glanced here at your thread, but I'm assuming you're looking for the terrain tools sample pack?

    This is actually under the Asset store and would appear in ' my assets'.

    More often than not you have to activate it via the website as it doesn't always appear in the 'my assets list until you select 'open in unity' from the web asset store.

    https://assetstore.unity.com/packag...nature/terrain-tools-sample-asset-pack-145808


    Hope that helps some.
     
    navratilvictori likes this.
  22. Xander-Davis

    Xander-Davis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    441
    I thought this was essentially deprecated and now you're supposed to get Terrain Tools from the Package Manager.

    I'm also not able to find Terrain Tools under Packages: Unity Registry, even with Enable Pre-release Packages turned on. I've also tried clicking Refresh List and Manual Resolve— no help. Using Unity 2021.1.0f1.

    The steps above do not appear to be working for me. Advice?
     
    Immersive-Matthew likes this.
  23. Reticulum

    Reticulum

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Haven't found Terrain Tools too... i'm using Unity 2021.1.0f1... i guess (and hope) it will be fixed in the next version of Unity.. :)
     
  24. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,403
    Click the "+" symbol, then "Add package by name" and enter "com.unity.terrain-tools"

    upload_2021-4-1_9-14-46.png
     
  25. andreyefimov2010

    andreyefimov2010

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Another workaround is to add
    Code (csharp):
    1. "com.unity.terrain-tools": "3.0.2-preview.3"
    to your Packages/manifest.json file. Then focus on the Unity editor and it will download and install the package.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2021
  26. vedantsanil

    vedantsanil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    This worked. Thank you!
    This worked, thank you! Note : for 2021 build
     
    miracalious likes this.
  27. yvesflueckiger

    yvesflueckiger

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2021
    Posts:
    2

    Have same problem please help someone
     
  28. yvesflueckiger

    yvesflueckiger

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    thanks that worked
     
  29. Reaper9000

    Reaper9000

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    I was able to find it and Download & Import it, however, when I do so, only the assets appear in the Project manager.
    The Terrain GameObjects, when selected, do not have any additional tools under Terrain in the Inspector - in a video I watched, it looked like it added several options under the paint brush.

    Someone suggested I wait, and I've waited over 30 minutes. I've hit play, and gotten out. I've saved & rebooted. Imported it 5x's trying to see if it missed anything - no go.

    It's pleasant having more assets, I suppose, but I was really hoping for the tools more so than the assets. Any pointers to get those additional paint brushes & tools???
     
  30. Reaper9000

    Reaper9000

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Scratch that - I downloaded it from the asset store, the files were last updated in 2018.
    I found the right one in the Package Manager and all is well in the world!
     
    wyattt_ likes this.
  31. Artik2442

    Artik2442

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Dumb mistake I've made... I was looking in my assets and not in unity registry. So yeah, after 3 hours I've finally got this package.

    So yes. As everyone says, Terrain Tool is in Unity Registry (not in your assets) and make sure to select preview package.
     
  32. navratilvictori

    navratilvictori

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    For Unity 2021, this was the only working solution.

    PS: The "Package Manager" project setting "Enable Preview Packages" is now called "Enable Pre-Release Packages" (Which btw, it doesn't work)

    When adding package by name, I used: Name "com.unity.terrain-tools" version "4.0.0-pre.2" as this is the latest, but this crashes and is unstable. Now I installed without specifying a version and the latest installed is "3.0.2-preview.3"
    (https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/com.unity.terrain-tools@4.0/changelog/CHANGELOG.html)

    All packages and preview packages can be found: https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/pack-preview.html
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2021
    omar_dahrawy2000 likes this.
  33. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    424
    Which version of the editor were you using with 4.0.0-pre.2 that caused it to crash? I believe it's only compatible with at least 2021.2.0a17 or 2021.2.0a18 and should be visible in Package Manager.
     
  34. aylapants

    aylapants

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    You are a GODSEND! This is exactly the answer I needed!!!
     
    DangerIncreased likes this.
  35. CriticalCoders

    CriticalCoders

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Posts:
    2
     
  36. harshsahuomi48

    harshsahuomi48

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    1
  37. marshakross2020

    marshakross2020

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    question: Does Terrain tools work with Unity 2020.3.8 ? and if so..... do you bring it in the same way as mentioned above in several messages?
     
  38. HIBIKI_entertainment

    HIBIKI_entertainment

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    595

    It does work, yes.

    If you can't see "Terrain Tools" in the package manager, with preview checked or not.

    Then you may pull directly from Unity's GitHub with the above mentioned "com.unity.terrain-tools" this goes for any supported and public resource Unity has released.

    Terrain tools also has an Add-on from the asset store, to give a few new features, brushes, ui, models.
    This is called Terrain Sample Asset Pack and can also help speed up prototype stages.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2022
    wyattt_ likes this.
  39. Mamello

    Mamello

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Please help. I enabled "preview packages" & imported the terrain sample asset pack, but the "terrain toolbox" doesn't appear under "Window".
    upload_2022-2-25_17-5-55.png
     

    Attached Files:

  40. HIBIKI_entertainment

    HIBIKI_entertainment

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    595
    The Terrain Sample Asset Pack is a Unity Asset Store add-on for Terrain Tools which is a downloadable editor package

    You can install Terrain Tools directly from Package Manager
    If you switch your package method from My Assets to Unity Registry you'll then be able to search for Terrain Tools.
     

    Attached Files:

    wyattt_ likes this.
  41. Mamello

    Mamello

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks so much. This helps.
     
    HIBIKI_entertainment likes this.
  42. kevcarr111

    kevcarr111

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    I had same issue, very frustrating but this did help. Thank You.
     
  43. anweshadasdesign

    anweshadasdesign

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Thaanks bro! U r a SAVIOUR!<3
     
  44. unity_IuokGeOCUjMFTA

    unity_IuokGeOCUjMFTA

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    this does nothing i have the same issue and terrain doesnt show up under window tab no matter what i do
     
  45. HIBIKI_entertainment

    HIBIKI_entertainment

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    595

    Some more context on your issue would go a long way, it's really important to give the information about your unity environment and set-up, otherwise, people can't give you help in context.

    Here are the two main ways you can install Terrain Tools in LTS.
    Also, it's important to remember that you cannot install anything if you have console compile errors.

    Via Package Manager
    upload_2023-12-23_20-15-55.gif

    Via Github link ( in package manager)
    upload_2023-12-23_20-19-7.gif

    If you have an older setup, like mentioned in this thread then you'll likely be instaling from the preview section of the package manager, which has to be enabled in your Project Settings before it can be seen
    upload_2023-12-23_20-22-28.png


    If you still can't get it to work, check for project compile errors ( can't enter play mode) or consider the thread options above, especially where it talks about unity versions and previews.

    Finally, you can try in a fresh install, it's common that after a lot of project exploring or learning, deleting files/library or upgrading versions, the project can become a little unstable. giving yourself a fresh environment to test will help you determine if there's a project, editor or system issue.

    Still, I recommend a more concise context overall.