Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Can't find 'Terrain Tools' package

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Waterlane, May 29, 2019.

  1. Waterlane

    Waterlane

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    188
  2. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,859
    You did activate Advanced -> Show preview packages?

    pp.png
     
  3. Waterlane

    Waterlane

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    188
    Yes - that's all done>>>
    (I've searched for 'terrain' in packages as well and no luck)

    (I'm using the 3D render pipeline - does that matter?)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. XiaoxiLiu

    XiaoxiLiu

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    The screenshot shows your package manager's last update was on May 20, which was before the Terrain Tools package released. Maybe try restarting package manager or Unity to force a refresh.
     
    Waterlane likes this.
  5. Waterlane

    Waterlane

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    188
    Yes - that's fixed it.
    I removed the package manager window and added it again - though it was using the latest package manager UI version (v2.1.2) - perhaps this should be looked at as a feature/bug/issue. It's likely this type of thing could happen to other people without them realising as well (I've now got other packages showing as having updates - which were not showing that before I reopened package manager...)
     
  6. dubbeldutch64

    dubbeldutch64

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thx for this hint!
     
  7. frajer2464

    frajer2464

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    what if I click on advanced but there is only: show dependencies and reset packages to default. There are no: show preview packages! What should I do? Don't know if it matters but I am on a mac.
     
  8. noyogiisMYusername

    noyogiisMYusername

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    21
    What version of unity are you using?
     
  9. vladalejnikov

    vladalejnikov

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Unity, it's just terrible! Do you know something about UI? I cant find a package for two hours and It's resolved by more than 5 steps! I had to turn on a parameter in preferences that called "Preview packages". What?!
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2020
    zeropointblack and wyattt_ like this.
  10. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,859
    Just in case anyone searches it in 2020.2:

    * open Package Manager
    * click the Gear Icon
    * click Advanced Project Settings

    pacman 0.png

    In the upcoming (or choose it directly) Project Settings dialog

    * select Enable Preview Packages

    pacman 1.png

    Then the Terrain Tools show up for "Packages: Unity Registry" in the Package Manager.
     
  11. SgtLame

    SgtLame

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Posts:
    101
    Thanks a lot!
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  12. klodqoshku

    klodqoshku

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    thank you, that helped
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  13. pukimusic007

    pukimusic007

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks, it works
     
  14. zeropointblack

    zeropointblack

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Posts:
    147
    this is beyond stupid. and it says 3.0 thats a PREVIEW? unreal. how about finish it. whats taking so long.

    ... thanks.
     
    wyattt_ likes this.
  15. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    368
    Hello there. We agree that this is as far from optimal as we can get for our users. This is on our immediate near-term roadmap though we're not yet ready to share a release date. We will make an announcement as soon as we have more information. Cheers
     
    DaLexis likes this.
  16. zeropointblack

    zeropointblack

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Posts:
    147
    sounds great. any chance you can have the previously selected brush STAY ACTIVE when i click away from my terrain and come back later to paint some more? currently, my brush keeps going back to something i used hours ago like a mountain stamp for some reason. i think it should remember your previously used brush.

    also, the shift SMOOTH shortcut does nothing. maybe a 1 pixel blur radius. it needs to REFERENCE the settings under the smooth section, so we can see it actually doing something to the terrain.

    please have them fix these two issues. they make it almost impossible to quickly make terrain.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
    wyattt_ likes this.
  17. ahmodmyd

    ahmodmyd

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    That worked for me thanks, man.
    I'm using unity 2020.2.1f1
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  18. Middelbo

    Middelbo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for this!
    Also: If you have package manager open in a floating window, clicking advanced settings WILL OPEN BEHIND THE PACKAGE MANAGER WINDOW! Grrr.
     
  19. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,859
    I only notice it from the notifications I get from the likes of my post, but maybe someone should consider that the whole preview thing was a very bad decision?
     
    wyattt_ likes this.
  20. WillSMashU

    WillSMashU

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    After enabling " preview packages" checkbox under advance options I see nothing to do with "Packages: Unity Registry" under Package Manager. Why the F*** is half my time In Unity trying to jump through hoops? How many hours before I can get more tools with my brushes. I guess I'll just stick with two options for my brushes for now cool thanks.
     
  21. HIBIKI_entertainment

    HIBIKI_entertainment

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    70

    I've just glanced here at your thread, but I'm assuming you're looking for the terrain tools sample pack?

    This is actually under the Asset store and would appear in ' my assets'.

    More often than not you have to activate it via the website as it doesn't always appear in the 'my assets list until you select 'open in unity' from the web asset store.

    https://assetstore.unity.com/packag...nature/terrain-tools-sample-asset-pack-145808


    Hope that helps some.
     
  22. Xander-Davis

    Xander-Davis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    428
    I thought this was essentially deprecated and now you're supposed to get Terrain Tools from the Package Manager.

    I'm also not able to find Terrain Tools under Packages: Unity Registry, even with Enable Pre-release Packages turned on. I've also tried clicking Refresh List and Manual Resolve— no help. Using Unity 2021.1.0f1.

    The steps above do not appear to be working for me. Advice?
     
  23. Reticulum

    Reticulum

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Haven't found Terrain Tools too... i'm using Unity 2021.1.0f1... i guess (and hope) it will be fixed in the next version of Unity.. :)
     
  24. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,859
    Click the "+" symbol, then "Add package by name" and enter "com.unity.terrain-tools"

    upload_2021-4-1_9-14-46.png
     
    alinST and Xander-Davis like this.
  25. andreyefimov2010

    andreyefimov2010

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    Another workaround is to add
    Code (csharp):
    1. "com.unity.terrain-tools": "3.0.2-preview.3"
    to your Packages/manifest.json file. Then focus on the Unity editor and it will download and install the package.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2021
  26. vedantsanil

    vedantsanil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    This worked. Thank you!
    This worked, thank you! Note : for 2021 build
     
unityunity