Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't drag objects in the scene view

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Martin12, Nov 13, 2013.

1. Martin12

Martin12

Hi, I'm just learning Unity and I can't figure out why I'm unable to click-and-drag objects. It's been working fine for days, and now suddenly I can only move objects by their widgets. Trying to drag them directly just results in an empty selection box. I've uninstalled, reinstalled, made a new project, restarted, and reset the interface to factory settings and nothing seems to help.

Does anyone have any idea what to do about this? I upgraded to 4.3 today if that's relevant...

jacobzak11 likes this.
  2. brilliantgames

brilliantgames

Click and drag objects? You mean select and move their position? Or dragging prefabs into your scene from the project window?

3. Martin12

Martin12

I mean selecting and moving their position in the scene view.

4. cparki3

cparki3

I was just having the same issue and pulling my hair out. Turns out I had my Sprite renderer collapsed. In the inspector window, make sure the components are expanded. Im my case it was the sprite renderer, but I'm not sure what you're working on.

Cheers!

5. outtoplay

outtoplay

I just had this same problem. Is this on purpose? Really?

6. Yarbius

Yarbius

OMG this was driving me CRAZY. Thanks cparki3!

7. MadManAdam

MadManAdam

I had the same issue as well… would have never thought to see if the sprite renderer being collapsed was the culprit, crazy.

8. BomboBombom

BomboBombom

Do not even see a sprite renderer anywhere on my screen, having the same issue anyway

9. zeyadyasser101

zeyadyasser101

I had this problem too. It was driving me crazy but I found a solution which was so obvious that I laughed.
    Make sure you select this tool as the attached image.

10. xtiano

xtiano