Search Unity

Resolved Can't drag and drop files to editor or between assets folders

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by LeandroBiloni, Apr 22, 2020.

1. LeandroBiloni

LeandroBiloni

Hi, im new to unity and im having some problem with my project that wont let me drag and drop filles from explorer to editor or files that are in the project to another folder in the project. Im using version 2019.2.17f1. I tried deleting the library folder, executing explorer.exe and unity both as admin or not admin like i saw in other posts and it doesnt work. If i create a new project in that version or 2018.3.0f2 i can drag and drop normally. It only happens with that project. I dont know if i need to upload some file here for someone to see or i need to give some more info, so if i needed just tell me.
    Thanks.

RonanMorelli likes this.
  2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

What happens when you just try to drag/drop files all within the editor?

3. LeandroBiloni

LeandroBiloni

hi, mouse pointer is replaced with a prohibited icon like this one asd (2).png

4. trurkowski

trurkowski

I just got this too, and it seems to be only for certain folders. Can't Figure out why. Would love to hear if anyone has solved it

Michael_Berna likes this.
  5. adamgolden

adamgolden

This happens to me when I have something in the search box.
    test.jpg

6. trurkowski

trurkowski

I'm pretty sure that any folders that I've specifically created outside of unity, and placed directly into the asset hierarchy (to be imported next time I opened the project) seemed to cause this issue.

I solved it by duplicating the folders within unity and deleting the old ones, removing the lil "1" unity places on the end -

fixed it for me! Though I only had to do this for objects that weren't being directly referred to anywhere else. Could be dangerous if you have lots of files in there being referred to.

7. NeedsLoomis

NeedsLoomis