Search Unity

can't 'downgrade'

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by junctionboss, May 21, 2019.

  1. junctionboss

    junctionboss

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    198
    I'm trying to move AWAY from beta, bc I think its causing my project problems specifically my 3rd person Ethan character. which is not working right, at all. I've posted about this, and still no responses.

    The HUB wont' let me change to 2019.2.3f1 which I can't imagine isn't more stable, from the 0b2.

    Can someone verify, this version 0b2 IS as stable as 3f1 so I can ignore this ?

    thx
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2019
  2. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4,615
    Why you run on beta, if expecting stable Unity?
     
  3. junctionboss

    junctionboss

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    198
    SImple, because things were NOT working out on stable :)

    I thought something not working here, might have been fixed in beta.

    Its not my fault , unity isn't more PROactive in helping users find their way through the nightmare that setting up a 3rd person character is.

    In 2 minutes I had it working out of the box in unrealengine 4, which is not a perfect engine , it has its own 'issues',like any engine does, but at least it doesn't waste a persons time fiddling for days, on character issues , right ?

    BUT, I have an important project here in unity that i'm very proud of, so I must fix this mess.

    I just found out about,, basic locomotion free in assets--I wish unity would find a way to let users who funds can't offer them a FASter way to a character, some reminder UP front about the free options--I 've looked for 2 days at least on store for a free character, and I never found it, until finding reference to it on youtube by a kind user.

    Does that resolve your question ?
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2019
  4. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    4,418
  5. junctionboss

    junctionboss

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    198
  6. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    4,418
    To downgrade, you would click on one of the links to download a previous version. "The hub won't let me"...so...download the version directly. You can have multiple versions installed at the same time, just install to separate folders. But yeah, might not work to open a higher version project on a lower version regardless. Best to go to your most recent backup, hopefully made just prior to importing to the beta version.
     
    Antypodish likes this.
  7. junctionboss

    junctionboss

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    198
    Ty for your information, I downed from B to 3f1 2019 , had to edit manfest.json a bit ( I'll avoid that in future ), but its working fine now.

    TY for your assistance