Search Unity

Cant DontDestroyOnLoad by Tag

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by daggasoft, Jul 24, 2013.

1. daggasoft

daggasoft

Hey, first off I'm very very new to this.

I'm trying to not destroy object on new level load by tag. In my game I have a lot of coins that get instantiated when a shell hits a block (think mario brothers). At the end of the level, on new level load, IF any of these coins are still on screen, they disappear. I want them to persist to the next level and die on their own (I have them commit suicide after 3 seconds). Reason being is I want the animation and sound to not be abruptly terminated upon new level.

Using an example on how to Destroy any objects with a given tag, I figured I could just replace destroy with dontdestroyonload. But in practice that isn't working. Is this because I'm instantiating clones or something like that? Any suggestions on how to handle this?

GameObject[] names = GameObjects.FindGameObjectsWithTag("coin");

foreach(GameObject item in names)
    {
    DontDestroyOnLoad(item);
    }

2. Deleted User

Deleted User

That code looks alright to me. You should narrow down exactly which part is failing - whether FindGameObjectsWithTag is not returning the set of GameObjects you expect or if DontDestoryOnLoad isn't having the expected effect. If it's the former, I'd check that the tag name is exactly right and if the GameObjects are active when you're searching for them (if they're inactive, they can't be found with the Find functions)

3. daggasoft

daggasoft

Thanks, can you tell me how to narrow this down? Not sure I follow.

I have done some further research, stepping through the game in the editor. What I've noticed is it will preserve items I manually place into the world, but will not preserve the same object that I instantiate via a script.

So I have the manual object called Coin, then the instantiated ones called Coin(Clone). The Clones die on level load.