Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't copy/paste keyframes

Discussion in 'Animation' started by dgoyette, Mar 8, 2018.

  1. dgoyette

    dgoyette

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    1,594
    I could swear that this was working as recently as a week or two ago, but I am unable to copy/paste keyframes in the Animation window. I've tried clicking individual keyframes (so they turn blue), pressing ctrl-C, then moving somewhere else in the timeline and pressing ctrl-V. I've made sure the scrubber was on a position with a keyframe under it. I've tried using "Copy" from the edit menu, I've tried Duplicating, and nothing seems to work. Did I just imagine that this was a feature?

    upload_2018-3-8_14-8-19.png
     
  2. dgoyette

    dgoyette

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    1,594
    This is getting bizarre. Yesterday copy/paste was working for me again: just highlight a keyframe (blue), ctrl-c, move to another position in the timeline, and ctrl-v to paste. Now today it's not working again. Does anyone else experience this? Is there some subtle condition I'm not aware of that prevents copy/paste from working?
     
  3. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,781
    Sounds like a bug report would give a definitive answer here.
     
  4. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    5,125
    or is that some read-only animation issue? (imported animation, vs. copied version of it, or one animated in unity)
     
  5. dgoyette

    dgoyette

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    1,594
    I'll report a bug. I was just hoping I was doing something wrong that someone would identify as a reason for the inconsistent behavior. It's currently letting me copy/paste again. This is the same animation I've been working on throughout, and I can otherwise edit the animation. It's just that copy/paste sometimes isn't working.
     
  6. LAURiqsa

    LAURiqsa

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same issue worked using curves but not in dopesheet.
     
  7. Leewhitt

    Leewhitt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I encounter the same issue still now intermittently - anyone know anymore about it?
     
  8. evand

    evand

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    This happens to me regularly, don't know why. Closing and reopening the animation window fixes it.