Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.4 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Can't choose script language

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by Suppen, Aug 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Suppen

    Suppen

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    When trying to create a new script, using the dropdown list to choose lanuage closes the "New script" dialog, so the script can't be created

    How to reproduce:

    1: Start a new 3D project
    2: Create a sphere, and center it
    3: Select the sphere, if not already selected, and click "Add component" in lower right corner. Select "New script"
    4: Click the "Language" dropdown

    The "New script" dialog closes, but the dropdown opens and lets me select a language. However, with the dialog closed, my selection has no effect.

    Creating a new script with the default language (C#) works as expected
     
  2. Tak

    Tak

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    974
    Confirmed, thanks for the report!
     
  3. FuzzyQuills

    FuzzyQuills

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,869
    As a workaround, you could create .txts with the .js or .cs extension in the asset folders. Means unity then imports the scripts as they look. ;)

    Fortunately for me, I have switched to C# in most of my projects, so this shouldn't affect me for the time being. :)
     
  4. JonnelManalo

    JonnelManalo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    upload_2020-6-2_13-44-58.png

    mine doesnt have any language's on it. i have visuals installed on my pc. is there something wrong on my unity?
     
  5. movement_text

    movement_text

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Posts:
    1
    Ya, mine looks just like yours. cant find it anywhere.
     
  6. JoNax97

    JoNax97

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    316
    Two things:
    First, unityScript and boo have been removed so there's no more language dialogue
    Second, this thread is 5 years old. Please remember that necroing threads is against the rules.
     
  7. zombiegorilla

    zombiegorilla

    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    8,136
    Closed, necro and see post above, there is only one language in Unity now.
     
    JoNax97 likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity