Search Unity

Can't add script behaviour AssemblyInfo. The script needs to derive from MonoBehaviour! problem

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by egg_citizen, Jan 15, 2019.

  1. egg_citizen

    egg_citizen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    19
    Hello, I hope you guys can help me out with atleast knowing why the following has happened and/or how to best fix it.
    I think I incorrectly closed Unity last time I was on... and now I can't add my already excisting scripts anymore, because of Error: Can't add script behaviour AssemblyInfo. The script needs to derive from MonoBehaviour!
    I get this error, when I try to add one of the existing scripts.
    It worked before, the name of the scripts hasn't changed and yes, it does start with public class Name: MonoBehaviour after determining the Using's.

    (Name in this example of course being the name of the script)
    Version 2018.3.of2
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.UI;
    5.  
    6. public class SetValueDice : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     public int diceValue;
    9.     public Text diceText;
    10.     public Button m_RollDieButton;
    11.     public Button m_DiceButton;
    12.  
    13.     private void Start()
    14.     {
    15.         diceValue = 0;
    16.         diceText.text = "";
    17.  
    18.        m_RollDieButton.onClick.AddListener(TaskOnClick);
    19.     }
    20.  
    21.     // Update is called once per frame
    22.         void TaskOnClick()
    23.     {
    24.         if (m_DiceButton.image.color == Color.white)
    25.         {
    26.             diceValue = Mathf.RoundToInt(Random.value * 5) + 1;
    27.             diceText.text = diceValue.ToString();
    28.         }
    29.     }
    30. }
    Example code:

    Do note, this is one of the examples. None of the scripts work anymore... luckily I can still access the code, so probably not much work is lost, but still.
     
  2. egg_citizen

    egg_citizen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    19
    Ok... so after I tried adding a new script... the exsisting ones reappeared on the objects... except the publics aren't recognised and as such won't be available.

    Until I fixed the problems in the scripts.
    Now everything works again.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2019
  3. jpspeck129

    jpspeck129

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    how did you fix the problem? I have the same issue and its still not working.
     
  4. Marmik_1

    Marmik_1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I have this issue moreover public variables are not shown in inspector and on a particular script unity gives errors on correct lines. code is exactly how unity wants it to e.
     
  5. rockylixo

    rockylixo

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    pls respond the question
     
  6. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    11,847
    Marmik hasn't logged in for 6 months and has only ever made the single post, so good luck.
     
  7. dylanfries

    dylanfries

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    16