Search Unity

Can't Add NavMesh Component Package on Githab

Discussion in 'Navigation' started by seoli1225, Jun 24, 2022.

1. seoli1225

seoli1225

I want to add the High Level API Components for Runtime NavMesh Building on Githab. Link: https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/NavMeshComponents/tree/master

I first tried to add it with the Git URL and unity responded this error
    [Package Manager Window] Cannot perform upm operation: Unable to add package [https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/NavMeshComponents.git]:
    [https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/NavMeshComponents.git] does not point to a valid package. No package manifest was found. [NotFound].
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions ()

then I opened it with Github desktop and try to add the package from disk. However, unity responds with "Please select a valid package.json file in a package folder."

I am currently using Unity version 2021.3.3f1

I am very new to using open-source on GitHub, so I might make some very silly mistakes. Any help is appreciated. Thank you in advance.

2. Use the last released one in package form, the just click the
    Add Package by Name
    menu option and use the
    com.unity.ai.navigation
    name. It is newer than the last submit in the repo you linked.

seoli1225 likes this.
  3. seoli1225

seoli1225

Sorry for the late response ><
    Thank you so much for your suggestion! I can add the package now!
    This package is currently Experimental. Is that alright? Can I still publicize the game if I used an experimental package?

4. seoli1225

seoli1225

By the way, do you know why I was not able to add the package from GitHub? I am tried for so long and I am really curious about what I did wrong. Would I be able to download other package from GitHub
    By the way, thank you so much for your response! The Navmesh Component finally worked!! :)))))))))))