Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Cant access other gameObj's function from script (C#)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by GoshFather, May 4, 2018.

1. GoshFather

GoshFather

I'm attempting to dynamically assign a method from a "player" object to a UI button's onClick() method once the player is instantiated. It looks like I have everything set up. However when I finally call "button.onClick.AddListener (() => {plyrHmn.plyrFunction();});" I get the following error:

"Assets/Resources/Scripts/instPlyrHmn.cs(12,46): error CS1061: Type `UnityEngine.GameObject' does not contain a definition for `plyrFunction' and no extension method `plyrFunction' of type `UnityEngine.GameObject' could be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?"

I'm pretty new to Unity and C#. But previously, I have been able to call methods from other objects. It just doesn't seem to work in this particular case. I am running the "Setup" script on a third-party "mediator" object. Attached are both of the scripts. Thanks instPlyrHmn.png plyrHmn.png

2. Brathnann

Brathnann

You need to get the component before you can access it's methods.
    plyrHmn is a GameObject, you should be using getComponent<plyrHmn>() to get the instance of the script from it.

Note that if this button exist in the scene, you can just as easily setup the onclick in the inspector.

3. GroZZleR

GroZZleR

A GameObject isn't a plyrHmn, though it may have the plyrHmn attached, and therefore doesn't have the plyrFunction available. You need to call GetComponent<plyrHmn>() on your GameObject to get access to the actual script.

4. methos5k

methos5k

It looks like you found the game object with that name, but not the script.
    You probably want:
    Code (csharp):
    1. plyrHmn.GetComponent<plyrHmn>().plyrFunction()