Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Cannot see sky with HD render pipeline

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by SilentAndAsleep, Apr 30, 2018.

  1. SilentAndAsleep

    SilentAndAsleep

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Hi! So I've set up the HD render pipeline (by creating a HD render asset and dragging it inside the graphics window in the scriptable render pipeline settings slot) and set the color space mode to Linear. However, the scene color turned to dark grey, and I'm unable to drag a skybox in the scene. I tried clicking on upgrade project materials to high definition pipeline but it didn't help. Here's what it looks like.

    EDIT: My bad, these were cubemaps, but I also tried with actual sky materials and I'm still having the same issue.

    EDIT: Fixed! If anybody ever has an issue with this, this guy explains how it's done with the HD pipeline


     
    Last edited: May 1, 2018
    Alverik likes this.
  2. ahmedsheeraz

    ahmedsheeraz

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    it helped but why it is such a long process? adding so many scripts just to show the sky
     
    CloudyVR and topitsky like this.
  3. sh_code

    sh_code

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    not a long process at all, not adding "so many scripts" at all, guy in the video is just using some fancy thirdparty assets for I have no idea which reason because watching beyond the 2 minute mark is
    a) not necessary
    b) i'm not willing to do it because his sour tone of voice is absolutely annoying

    you just:
    1. add an empty gameobject (call it "Scene Settings", because that's what its purpose is, basically)
    2. add a "Volume" script to it, check the "Global" checkbox, click "New" button next to its "Profile" line.
    3. click "Add component overrides" in the Volume script's inspector settings
    4. Pick "HDRI Sky"
    5. enable the "Hdri sky" override in its section that appeared, via the tiny gray circle to the left of the label
    6. put the skybox/cubemap texture into its value field
    7. done


    the process takes probably 4 more clicks more than the old one.
    it's one script (Volume), the "component overrides" are just settings of that script.

    it's just in a different place and a bit more involved, because the system was re-done to be infinitely more flexible and dynamic.

    (The "Profile" asset that was created in step 2 by clicking "New" now contains and saves all of the settings of the volume component. You can have multiple profiles and swap them at will/at runtime, or if you have several volumes in your scene that are not global, you can fluently interpolate between them as a whole, to create transitions such as going from sunny outside to a misty damp cave, or such. And that's where the "infinitely more flexible and powerful" part of this new system comes into play. You're welcome.)
     
  4. sh_code

    sh_code

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    also, now, if you want to globally edit settings of all of the volumes that use the same profile, in all of your scenes where it's used, you don't even have to go looking for a single gameobject that has it attached, you can just select the profile's asset in project explorer, and edit it from there. BOOM. all of the Volumes that use the profile across all of the scenes in your project are automatically using the changed settings.
     
  5. sh_code

    sh_code

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    if you want, you can edit your OP again and remove the annoying guy's annoying and needlessly long video and replace it with the bolded 7-step process I wrote above.
    You're welcome ;)
     
  6. Dzonedhilip

    Dzonedhilip

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    hi anyone tried playing videos using HD pipeline ?
     
  7. Lorca1031

    Lorca1031

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    Does anyone know how to change the HDRI sky by script?
     
  8. Lorca1031

    Lorca1031

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    NVM I just figured it out! In case you're wondering:

    You can make a separate Volume profiles and swap em out via code like this

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.VolumeProfile profile;
    2.     UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.Volume Volume { get { return FindObjectOfType<UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.Volume>(); }}
    3.  
    4. void Start()
    5. { Volume.profile = profile; }
     
    Tulsisvt likes this.
  9. Kubic75

    Kubic75

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Posts:
    83
    This is impossible using the lightweight pipeline, its not listed.
    Any help how to setup a skybox for lightweight?
     
  10. Tulsisvt

    Tulsisvt

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    I'm trying to access the HDRIsky overridden component's exposure value to fade out the sky. Does anyone know how to do this?
     
  11. Tulsisvt

    Tulsisvt

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    I figured it out!
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.VolumeProfile profile;
    2.  
    3. private UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRISky hDRISky;
    4. void Start(){
    5.        
    6.         hDRISky = (UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRISky)profile.components[0];
    7.         print(hDRISky.exposure);
    8.     }
     
  12. Rob78

    Rob78

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Hey, so Procedural Sky materials dont count anymore.. or do we need to source and create a cubemap?
     
  13. Oliv3r885

    Oliv3r885

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I have done this but i still dont see the sky
     
  14. Drazok

    Drazok

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    I was also missing something. I just had to add Visual Environment component and pick sky type.

    upload_2019-2-3_0-9-23.png
     
    Bingo675, Velo222 and theprofessoroak like this.
  15. Wantcha

    Wantcha

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Posts:
    114
    I've done everything said in this thread and my sky is still grey
     
  16. romainbayer105

    romainbayer105

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Nice it works. Thanks guy's!
     
  17. jarihy

    jarihy

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    If sky is still grey then check your camera settings and set "Volume Layer Mask" to "Everything".
     
  18. illinar

    illinar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    863
    My camera definitely is using the volume, all effects work, except the sky, it's always black. I have a light, I have the sky added with default settings. Tried to change the tint. It doesn't seem to work at all.

    Procedural sky scripts are imported from samples in the package manager. (Since it is not supported by default now.)

    HDRP 7.0.1, Unity 2020.1.0a7

    A little annoying that I don't have an option to just use a solid color for the sky..
     
  19. mtessmann

    mtessmann

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    After trying everything above, I also had to do the following (in Unity 2019.2.3f1)
    • Set the HDRI Sky Intensity Mode to Lux (this made the sky appear in the Game view)
    • Turn on Visual Environment Fog and set the Type to None (this got rid of the fog that obscured the ground)

    I also just found that I could see the sky with HDRI Sky Intensity Mode in Exposure but then had to increase the exposure up from the default of 0 to above 10. Even so, the sky looked better in the Lux setting.