Search Unity

Cannot include UnityEngine.ResourceManagement into my assembly

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by FabioFZynga, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. FabioFZynga

    FabioFZynga

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,
    I'm trying to write my assembly module to use the new Addressable Assets system
    (by using Editor "Create->Assembly Definition" menu).
    When including the assembly dependencies "UnityEngine.AddressableAssets" shows up and can be included but UnityEngine.ResourceManagement isn't available and it doesn't show up in the editor menu to include assembly references... as a result the whole Addressable Assets system is unusable.
    My project makes heavy use of compartmentalised assemblies so this is a blocking issue for me...
    Any suggestions on how I might resolve this issue?

    Thank you.
     
  2. chanon81

    chanon81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    168
    I have this same problem ... is there a solution?
     
  3. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Same here
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Ok, I've fixed this. Go into Packages/manifest.json and add this line

    "com.unity.resourcemanager": "2.4.4-preview"

    That should make it available from the assembly list
     
  5. BudsofBuds

    BudsofBuds

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    This is annoying. It seems like it should be a dependency of the Addressables package.
     
  6. Sky_Higher

    Sky_Higher

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    hello

    I Add "Unity.ResourceManager" to Assembly Definition References List
    its ok.

    namae itti sitenakute kusa.
    my version - info
    [Unity - 2020.1.9f1]
    [Addressables - 1.16.6]
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2020
  7. TimothyAppel

    TimothyAppel

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Exactly, that definitely would have made more sense. I'm working on a framework and trying to have scenes that are pre-loaded at start of game then later called when they are needed, so naturally I have the addressables package. Seems I'll have to use [InitializeOnLoad] to make sure the Resource Manager is added to the assembly definition references list
     
  8. TimothyAppel

    TimothyAppel

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the answer, this helps.