Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Cannot Build Tiny3D on macos bigsur, no_dotnet_found error

Discussion in 'Project Tiny' started by BattlefieldNoob, Feb 27, 2021.

  1. BattlefieldNoob

    BattlefieldNoob

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Hi, first of all thank you for Tiny!!

    I can't complete the build on macOS, after some minutes Unity fail to build with this error message

    This error appear using "Wasm", "Mac - Dotnet" and "Mac - il2cpp" Build configurations (i didn't tried with other configurations)

    Documentation say the only dependency on macos is XCode, i've installed the latest versions of dotnet but nothing changed

    dotnet --list-sdks prints:
    i'm on macOS 11.1 (20C69) and i'm using XCode Version 12.3 (12C33)

    Thank you!
     
  2. AbdulAlgharbi

    AbdulAlgharbi

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    319
    Make sure xcode-select -p returns /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer if not please run sudo xcode-select -r to reset the default Xcode path.
     
  3. BattlefieldNoob

    BattlefieldNoob

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Hi Abdul, thank you for your reply

    The command "xcode-select -p" output "/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer" as expected

    i've tried to build Tiny3D on another mac, with XCode Version 12.4 (12D4e) and same macOS version (11.1 20C69) and this time the build succeded, i will try to update my XCode version to latest
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2021
  4. BattlefieldNoob

    BattlefieldNoob

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Unfortunatelly update XCode to Version 12.4 (12D4e) did not solve the build problem on my Mac, there is something wrong with my configuration, maybe setting some env variables for DotNet could help me?
     
  5. BattlefieldNoob

    BattlefieldNoob

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    *Solved* I've installed Visual studio for mac from Unity Hub, now i can build successfully.

    There is a way to skip Visual studio installation? my idea is to setup a CI pipeline with github actions, the macos hosted machine have already dotnet installed but for some reason Unity can't see him
     
  6. AbdulAlgharbi

    AbdulAlgharbi

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    319
    Interesting,
    It's not required to install VS on mac
    maybe you were missing something that got installed alongside Visual studio for mac?
     
  7. BattlefieldNoob

    BattlefieldNoob

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    I've done some tests by deleting mono and dotnet, i've found that it's required to have only mono installed to build.
    I think Unity Hub installed it along with Visual Studio Mac

    Should mono be added as dependency into macOS documentation?
     
  8. AbdulAlgharbi

    AbdulAlgharbi

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    319
    The build system should use mono from the Unity editor