Search Unity

Discussion Cancelling an Awaitable without throwing an exception

Discussion in 'Scripting Dev Blitz Day 2023 - Q&A' started by rawna, Feb 23, 2023.

1. rawna

rawna

I have mentioned this in the "future dotnet development" thread, but I did not push on it, because I didn't want to derail the thread.

From what I can tell, cancelling an Awaitable will cause allocations by creating an Exception and an ExceptionDispatchInfo. And then throw the exception, which will be caught by the "catch" block in the generated state machine. Then it will repeat the whole process for each parent/calling async Awaitable method.

Would it be possible to instead, just reset and release the Awaitable object and its resources (and all its Awaitable parents)?

Would love to hear the scripting team opinion on the matter. Thanks.

2. tvardero

tvardero

You can wrap your async method call in try-catch block, that will catch OperationCancelledException and do nothing.

P.S. I'm not a developer from Unity team, I'm just pathing through...

3. rawna

rawna

My problem with the exception, is the performance implications.

It will cause allocations for the exception and the dispatch info, and it'll multiply based on how deep the Awaitable method is.

Plus, catching an exception is known to be very slow in dotnet.

4. tvardero

tvardero

Don't get scared by exceptions in C#.
    Even if they are slightly slow compared to returning a some result object with "failure" status, they have no big impact on your app, even if scaled to 10000 or higher.
    Nick Chapsas has benchmark video comparing exception throwing vs returning failed status object. We are talking about 150 nanoseconds here, will someone notice?

Exception object, yes, is allocated on heap. As any other object in your code. But it is passed by reference from once call frame to another (in your call stack), so it won't allocate again when comes in outer function.