Search Unity

Cancel/Abort Addressable Download

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by Ferazel, Sep 4, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ferazel

Ferazel

I'm relatively new to addressables and trying to get a handle on them by getting a basic project setup that will have various remote asset bundles each with individual textures in them. The problem I'm running into is that the desired UI flow that seems to make the most sense doesn't seem to be allowed by the addressable API. The idea is that the user can download additional customization options for the game. Currently, I'm testing this out with different textures each in their own asset bundle.

1) User is presented a list view of all of the options with the thumbnails being stored in the built-in assets (and potentially overridable with new content patches).
    2) The user selects one of the options. The user is presented a confirmation of "Do you want to download this asset of X bytes"?
    3) The user clicks OK and the box transitions to a progress bar with the download progress as well as a cancel button.
    4) After the download the message box hides while we load the texture from the downloaded bundle.

#3 is where I am running into a problem, if the user is to cancel the download there doesn't appear to be an Abort API like there is an the UnityWebRequest? Am I missing a global API that maybe will handle this for AsyncOperations for Addressables? Is there another mechanic to handle canceling the download?

Thanks!

2. HugoClip

HugoClip

Afaik there is no method to cancel downloads. To support you will need to create your own Provider to track the UnityWebRequests. Basically replacing AssetBundleProvider.cs. I will probably need this feature in the future, so if you would like when I get there I don't mind sharing it with you.

3. Ferazel

Ferazel

Thanks for the reply. It's disappointing that this use case was not implemented in the base addressable provider.

4. foresightt