Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Can you use ScriptableObject to create a game database without hard coding entries in the editor?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by cmbgold, Sep 14, 2020.

1. cmbgold

cmbgold

I have a strategy game originally written purely in Java. Now I'm converting it to work in Unity, editing the Java code to C#. There are a lot of Java class objects that include all the code they need to work, and I'm mostly using Unity for UI and things like detecting interactions. I'm trying to avoid scrapping/rewriting any more code than is necessary, and so I have MonoBehavior objects as shells containing standard C# classes which contain most of the internal mechanics of the game elements. I've got a lot of experience in Java and C#, but I've only started in Unity recently.

In Java, I wrote a class called GameLibrary that contained the data for all the units in the game. It contained a couple of HashMaps (Dictionaries in C#) which stocked all the different units as class objects containing values such as attack, speed, etc. When the game spawned a new unit, the spawner would call the GameLibrary, which would return a copy of the requested unit. It's a simple game, and units basically consist of a handful of int values and strings. It worked well in Java and made for a simple design that made it very easy to modify units and add new ones.

Now that I'm transferring the project to Unity, I'm trying to figure out how to integrate a version of this game library object. It's not hard to rewrite it in C# and use it the way I was previously: the spawner could simply have a reference to the GameLibrary object and request new units as before. I'd like to know if there is a better way to accomplish this, however.