Search Unity

Resolved Can you load a specific Scene for selected Clients?

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by itisMarcii_, Aug 11, 2022.

  1. itisMarcii_

    itisMarcii_

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2022
    Posts:
    111
    Is there a way to load Scenes for a/multiple selected Client/s with the Netcode.SceneManager? Like a Portal usage with multiple rooms (Scenes) to load and unload in a single session.
     
  2. cerestorm

    cerestorm

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Posts:
    664
    You'll have to disable scene management to allow for clients to be in different scenes. I have it set up the way you've suggested with a portal catering for multiple rooms.
     
  3. itisMarcii_

    itisMarcii_

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2022
    Posts:
    111
    So the Netcode SceneManager is incapable of doing so, is that right?

    Just need to know for my documentation of my evaluation :)
     
  4. cerestorm

    cerestorm

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Posts:
    664
    That's what I've come to understand, the SceneManager enforces scene and object synchronisation and if you want something outside of that you have to disable it and do all the management yourself.
     
    itisMarcii_ likes this.
  5. itisMarcii_

    itisMarcii_

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2022
    Posts:
    111
    Thanks that prevented a lot of wasted time to figure it out :)
     
    cerestorm likes this.
  6. rahulchawla2801

    rahulchawla2801

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2021
    Posts:
    34
    Is it still the case? Can't we load a scene only on selected clients.
     
  7. RikuTheFuffs-U

    RikuTheFuffs-U

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Posts:
    440
    As cerestorm said, you can if you disable scene management in the NetworkManager.