Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Can we use the Timeline to create a little story triggered by user interaction?

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by Galbert-IT, Mar 29, 2020.

1. Galbert-IT

Galbert-IT

Hello everybody,
    First of all, greatest kudos to the team of Unity developers: you really created a huge piece of software guys!
    I'm a developer as well and I can appreciate the great coding work that is behind the Unity engine.

Compliments apart, I have a question for you.
    I'd like to create a little story that evolves depending on user interaction. Substantially, at the beginning a Timeline starts and a character in the scene says a couple of phrases, then it should pause waiting for something to happen (e.g. the Player walking farther than a given distance, clicking on some buttons etc...) and then start again from the third phrase, and so on.
    How is it possible to do this? I have some horrible workaround in mind that would probably work, but I hope that the Signals and/or the Marker + Notification technology can do this in a more elegant way!
    For instance: set a Marker/Signal any time the story is supposed to come into a "waiting" state, and link this to a Receiver (or something that receives a Marker Notification) that pauses the Playable Director timeline (I already checked it can de paused and played on demand). Then, on some Update event, if a certain trigger has been marked (and some others not), resume the playback at a given time (jumps may be possible if needed).

Do you think this may work? Do you have any suggestion in this regard? Would the Signals or the Marker + Notification system be more appropriate for this to work simply and effectively?

I attach a couple of screenshot with my nice bot-guide that should accompany the player during the VR experience.

Thank you in advance,