Search Unity

Question Can we use ARKit 6?

Discussion in 'AR' started by s-elliot-perez, Jun 10, 2022.

1. s-elliot-perez

s-elliot-perez

Hello! I'm interested in the 4k option of the new ARKit 6, announced by Apple, but it's not clear to me how to actually use it. I'm new to following Apple releases and can't find info on its release or how to use it with Unity. Is it already released? As is, the very simple syntax they show in the video at the 5:00 mark doesn't seem available in Unity C# or Xcode... I have the latest version of the Unity ARKit XR Plugin installed: Version 4.2.3

upload_2022-6-10_12-2-1.png

Attached Files:

newguy123 and DiveshNaidoo like this.
  2. KyryloKuzyk

KyryloKuzyk

ARKit 6 is currently not supported by AR Foundation.

andyb-unity likes this.
  3. s-elliot-perez

s-elliot-perez

Thank you for your reply. Are there any plans in the near future to support it?

Rayd-GmbH likes this.
  4. tafkams

tafkams

I am also very interested in using ARKit 6 because of the simultaneous use of front and back camera. Are there any update plans?

5. Rayd-GmbH

Rayd-GmbH

Any information/news on this topic? All our clients really want the higher quality image :)

6. DiveshNaidoo

DiveshNaidoo

Would also like to know this. We could really use the high resolution capture feature.

7. DiveshNaidoo

DiveshNaidoo

Would be nice to know if there are any plans to support the new Arkit features in Unity.

8. andyb-unity

andyb-unity

Unity Technologies

Hi all,

I'm confirming that we are indeed working on ARKit 6 support. We will make a full announcement later covering the full scope of this work, but in the meantime I want to let you know that 4K video is available now via the
    ARCameraManager
    and does not require a new AR Foundation version.

To access 4K video configurations on compatible devices: