Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Can virtual input be implemented?

Discussion in 'Unity Render Streaming' started by woo_dong, Jan 26, 2023.

  1. woo_dong

    woo_dong

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    29
    I try to developing third party streaming sdk. (wrapping Render Streaming)

    Can I virtual input be implemented? (like unreal pixel streaming)

    Using the Input System, it is too difficult to deliver touch, mouse input, keyboard input, etc.
     
  2. kazuki_unity729

    kazuki_unity729

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    803
    I would like to know the detail of your issues. What kind of problems?
     
  3. woo_dong

    woo_dong

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    29
    I want the input from the remote device to be delivered as it is.

    For example, pressing a button at a specific location on a remote device requires pressing a button at that location in the original game.

    If I use the input system as it is now, you can implement the console game streaming service, but it is very difficult to implement the mobile game.

    Instead of receiving coordinates or data and implementing it directly, I want to generate virtual input.
     
  4. kazuki_unity729

    kazuki_unity729

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    803
    You mean, InputSender and InputReceiver are not enough for your usecase, is it right?
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/com.unity.renderstreaming@3.1/manual/data-streaming.html
     
  5. woo_dong

    woo_dong

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    29
    What I want is when I press a button on the remote device, I want that button to be pressed in the actual game.

    If I use the input receiver, the coordinate value is sent, the data is actually inspected, and the action is executed when the button is pressed directly, but the button cannot be pressed.

    Is my understanding correct?
     
  6. kazuki_unity729

    kazuki_unity729

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    803
    The button should be pressed if sent the correct position.
    This issue might be related the issue you are reporting.
    https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/UnityRenderStreaming/issues/454
     
  7. woo_dong

    woo_dong

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    29
    In the end, should I receive only the coordinate value and implement the function assigned to the button directly?

    Or can I develop it to press the button directly?
     
  8. kazuki_unity729

    kazuki_unity729

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    803
    Hi, I would like to know the issue yhat you have more detail, can I have the simple project to reproduce the issue?
     
  9. woo_dong

    woo_dong

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    29


    For example, I want the sound to play when I press the PlayAudio button on the Remote Device screen.

    Currently, only the location where it is pressed is displayed and does not operate.

    I don't think this is a problem, but I want to make that possible.
     
  10. kazuki_unity729

    kazuki_unity729

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    803
    it sounds strange. It should work.
    How about other buttons?
     
  11. woo_dong

    woo_dong

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    29
    Does it work even if you touch it on the remote device screen?

    I don't see any implementation other than the red dot that actually displays the coordinates.

    What is the actual working principle?
     
  12. kazuki_unity729

    kazuki_unity729

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    803
    These buttons are pressed by Input System.
    Unity Render Streaming transfer input data from browser to Input System.
     
  13. woo_dong

    woo_dong

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    29
    Looking at the InputSystem of the Broadcast sample..

    As the result of the event occurred in 'OnPress' and 'OnPoint', you can know the coordinate value, but the actual button is not pressed.
    How to trigger a touch event to press a button?
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2023
  14. kazuki_unity729

    kazuki_unity729

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    803
    I would like to check the issue, please give me device informantion for your environment.