Search Unity

Can unity make something like Dont Starve?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by MrEncrypted, Aug 8, 2015.

1. MrEncrypted

MrEncrypted

Hi
    I want to make a game like Don't Starve. I mean a "2D character" in a 3D world.
    But, I have no idea how to make something like that.

Can unity make something like that?

If someone know who to make a game like that, please let me know.

Thanks for any help.

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

You can make whatever you want, but you have to program it. Unity won't do it for you.

--Eric

jhocking, JoeStrout and Kiwasi like this.
  3. MrEncrypted

MrEncrypted

Thanks for reply.

Of course I have to program it and that exactly my work.
    I'm a programmer, but a have experience with 3D games and graphics like " BlackSmith" and PBR materials.

But I have no idea about know to make something like Don't Starve.
    For example: The characters
    are they really "2D" or a kind of voxel graphics with a good cell shading? or sprites that changes with the rate of the player?

4. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

2D 'sprites'. Just use Unity 2D, it'll work fine. They're essentially just billboards with textures. Please post something like this in General or Getting Started. It's not an editor subject.

5. MrEncrypted

MrEncrypted

I'm sorry.

6. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

It's fine I moved it. But please check out the http://unity3d.com/learn section for 2D stuff (this can also use a 3D camera/scene and they can be moved in 3D, which what you need for don't starve. You would want to use invisible 3D colliders and character controller I suspect if you want height-based gameplay).

MrEncrypted likes this.
  7. MrEncrypted

MrEncrypted

Thanks for the help

You help me a lot.

Now, I just have to learn how to make the "sprites" change when the player rote the character.

8. JoeStrout

JoeStrout