Search Unity

Can Unity make a 3D forest like this?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by LongGood, Apr 29, 2016.

1. LongGood

LongGood

Hi everyone, I am an engineer, focused on the VR system. Recently we are building a nature scene for user to walk through.

Recently, I found this picture is astonished. And think this will be a very good demonstration for us.

is there any trick that we can make it possible by using Unity3D?
    thanks for your reading

Ray

goat likes this.
  2. mgear

mgear

*scroll down for bounty to do this scene in unity --->

** High resolution image: https://static.pexels.com/photos/35600/road-sun-rays-path.jpg

I'd say probably not.. might get something similar or good enough though.
    - terrain wont work on such high resolution
    - terrain grass looks horrible
    - antialias issues
    - unity speedtree not ready/complete yet
    - maybe flicker on the light rays..until they release Adam demo features : )
    - performance issues with high amount of objects + VR

this is probably best scenery i've seen in unity, which is not so far from your image actually :)
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/wip-eastshade-a-game-about-exploration.251469/

every now and then i've been trying to make realistic forest scene also,
    not easy..(but also because i don't have proper meshes, trees, textures)
    http://unitycoder.com/blog/2015/05/24/forest-lake-scene-test/

also you can get latest image effects from here,
    https://bitbucket.org/Unity-Technologies/cinematic-image-effects

Last edited: Jun 19, 2016
    AlanMattano and eXonius like this.
  3. Stardog

Stardog

Gametyme and JamesArndt like this.
  4. iamthwee

iamthwee

Nope.

5. jc_lvngstn

jc_lvngstn

You'll also need some improved tree shaders. Heck probably vastly improved shaders for everything.