Search Unity

Can Unity be used for Adventure games?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Azel, Feb 11, 2011.

1. Azel

Azel

Question:
    I’ve been looking at different 3D game engines on:

http://www.devmaster.net/engines/

I am planning on making a small adventure game. After reading up on the different 3D game engines, I decided Unity Pro might be the best for my game project. My only concern is that my game is an adventure game, not a shooter. Do you have any suggestions either fore of against using Unity for adventure game creation?

Is there another 3D game engine that would be better suited for such a game? An adventure game is mostly about the player using point and click puzzle solving and working with inventory. A 3D game engine that is constructed mostly, or only, for making a shooter game may not work for me. Since I have no experience with Unity, I am not sure if I have made the best choice.

Thanks
    Azel

2. JRavey

JRavey

There is no reason it wouldn't work, most engines are quite general purpose.

3. ColossalDuck

ColossalDuck

Yes, yes it can. You could try shiva3d, but I think Unity is a lot better personally. Although I may be a bit biased.

Personally, Unity is probably the easiest game engine to use for 3d stuff.

"A 3D game engine that is constructed mostly, or only, for making a shooter game may not work for me" that aint Unity.

4. Don-Gray

Don-Gray

That is the genre game I am working on for quite some time now (new to actual game creation)
    all you need is the scripts for your inventory and items (pick up from game world, place into game world),
    puzzles of various kinds (and their solutions and what happens when solved/unsolved)
    and anything else you want to be a part of the game.
    I farm all my scripting out.
    It helps to have a guy with a Masters in Computer Sciences to do your scripting,
    to take your ideas and put them into a working game structure.

:)

Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  5. DallonF