Search Unity

Can the ECS/DOTS be the solution to my framerate problem? If so, how to approach it? Where to start?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by konstantin_lozev, Apr 17, 2019.

1. konstantin_lozev

konstantin_lozev

Hi all,
    I am new to game development, but I like it very much as a hobby. I like learning by doing and solving hurdles on the way.
    I am prototyping a VR game for the Oculus Go, so high requirements for min 60fps in stereo, on a very modest hardware. Here is a very early version of my prototype from August last year
    I stopped developing for 4-5 months, but since 2-3 weeks I am back on the project. My main goal now is to optimise the game to run on very large grids.
    As you can see, the game consists of a large amount of "nodes" and "links" between them that are procedurally generated each time you start a new game. You will find a summary of the game logic at the end of this post.
    I have taken down the drawcalls to a very low number, because I use Graphics.DrawMeshInstanced for the "links" and Renderer.SetPropertyBlock for changing the color of the "nodes". The Text Mesh Pro elements also batch well, apparently.
    For a grid of 1093 "nodes" and 3-4 times more "links", the Stats window shows 22 batches and 4782 saved by batching: https://i.imgur.com/NRROtd2.jpg

The Stats window shows 229 fps, but that is on my PC.
    In the Oculus Go initially, when the Text Mesh Pro components are not enabled, things look OK at 60 fps
    https://i.imgur.com/FFfRWNg.jpg

However, once the Text Mesh Pro elements show up too, the framerate drops to around 50 fps (on a monitor that's not bad, but in VR it creates stuttering):
    https://i.imgur.com/8dtMrhT.jpg

It is even worse when I rotate the camera around the grid, at 40 fps it is simply unacceptable as a VR experience:
    https://i.imgur.com/zmjSWmM.jpg