Search Unity

Question Can subgraphs in a flow be hotswapped to another 'generic' subgraph?

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by ForgottenDreamcat, Oct 4, 2022.

1. ForgottenDreamcat

ForgottenDreamcat

I have a graph with a flow. A subgraph is connected as part of the flow. Is it possible to dynamically swap (hotswap) out that subgraph to a different subgraph asset or that another object holds, without me needing to know the subgraph target ahead of time?

I'm new to Visual Scripting, and I'm not yet familiar with the nodes and workflow (I never used Bolt). Most videos seem to cover either the basics or other random conversions from normal scripts.

2. REDACT3D_

REDACT3D_

Lookin for this node?
    Capture.PNG
    you would need to know them ahead of time.. but not sure what you mean

3. PanthenEye

PanthenEye

I don't think this is possible. Technically custom events can pass around any object but there are no equivalent of a delegate in visual scripting. What you see in the graph, is what you get, it's all pretty static.

ForgottenDreamcat likes this.
  4. ericb_unity

ericb_unity

Unity Technologies

If you are talking about swapping a subgraph node that is connected inside of a graph, it may not possible the way you describe it, without special work in C#.

If you want to swap graphs directly within the component, what REDACT3D_ showed will do it.

The other option could be to use events nodes.

5. ForgottenDreamcat

ForgottenDreamcat

This is most unfortunate, because if it were possible, VS would be an amazing solution for quite a few problems.

I have a scenario where I would like to, for the ease of coding workflow, loop through logic normally, but when I encounter a specific scenario, I can hit a button and hotswap the subgraph from one that 'does nothing' (is a simple passthrough from Input to Output node) to one based on whatever I am targeting.