Search Unity

1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Can someone explain me this (Physics and forces)

Discussion in '2D' started by migbernabeumor, Aug 8, 2019.

1. migbernabeumor

migbernabeumor

Hello im new in game development and i have some doubts about physics and forces.

Im making a game(platformer 2d) where my player has movement like mario but when the player clicks in one direction the character does and attack in that direction with a little jump, my problem begins here:

-When the character jumps and i click in the direction of the jump the character makes a jump with a lot of force.
    -And when i use 2 or more times the attack sideways in the air the little jump becomes bigger.

Im using myBody.AddForce(Vector2,ForceMode2D.Impulse) to make my jump and my attack.

Thank you for read this.

2. Cornysam

Cornysam

Have you defined an amount you want to jump? I.E. a float/int called jumpForce? Here is what i do:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  rb.AddForce(new Vector2(0, jumpForce), ForceMode2D.Force);
    jumpForce is a public variable i can change in the inspector to adjust the height my character goes. Also, are you checking with a bool to see if the player is "grounded" or not?

3. migbernabeumor

migbernabeumor

Hello Cornysam(and others users),

I think i didnt explain myself quite well sorry, i will try to clear out my problem, my jump works perfectly and my attack too.

My problem is when i jump and attack at the same time because i add an impulse to my RigidBody2D with the jump and my attack adds a mini dash with an impulse to my RigidBody2D in the direction i want to attack(with the mouse).

Then, both forces sum their velocity and acceleration, and create a bigger impulse.

I'm asking if someone knows a way to avoid that both forces to sum and create this undesired effect.

Please make me know if i explained myself good this time thank you for help.

4. Cornysam

Cornysam