Search Unity

Question Can shader graph materials properties be edited locally in each isntance of the material?

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by Acre94, Apr 22, 2019.

1. Acre94

Acre94

Hello ! I am using shader graph for creating a toon shader. I am creating a library of basic colors that are used for different characters across scenes. I created a property called "lightColor" that affects the basic hue of the color (and makes the colors integrated with the scene colors), and hoped to be able to edit this locally, so that I don't have to create copies of the material for each light color variation I have.

I am not a programmer, and I am very new to shader graph, so I am probably approaching this incorrectly. I would like to know how to edit properties inside materials from shader graph locally, so they don't affect the main material (and therefore all other characters using these colors). If this is impossible, could I maybe create a code that connects the scene's main light color to the property created inside the shader?

Should I maybe work with albedo maps, and have materials for each type of character in the game, rather than having a library of colors that work on all objects in the game?

Thanks for the patience !!

upload_2019-4-22_11-36-56.png

2. sanbox

sanbox

Hiya! I'm not exactly sure I understand. If you want to have a "Toon_Red" and a "Toon_Yellow", you'd want to make a different material for each color. That's the most performant and simplest answer.

HOWEVER, if you want to be able to have any color and you want to change what the color is at Runtime, so that renderer A and renderer B, who share Material C, have different properties (ie. different colors on the material, despite sharing a material) you want what's called a "Material Property Block".

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/MaterialPropertyBlock.html

Acre94 likes this.
  3. Acre94

Acre94