Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

can I use subversion to manage my unity files?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by Erin Liu, Mar 18, 2010.

1. Erin Liu

Erin Liu

:D Hello everyone. I am a beginner of unity 3d. And I have a problem of file version management. I have known that unity Asset server can be used to manage the files of unity project.

But, we have used subVersion to manage our files in our lab for a long time. Therefore, I would like to know if I can use subversion to manage my unity files?

And, how can i use subversion to mange the assets files, project files and script files?

Thanks for your answer and help. I really appreciate it.

2. Tysoe

Tysoe

If you use pro SVN works well so long as you disable a couple of folders in your svn libraries.

With the free version your stuck with something like dropbox as the version control options are disabled.

3. Tom163

Tom163

With Pro, yes you can.

But - my personal opinion - it's such a PITA that unless you are a masochist, you don't want to do it.

For one, forget about renaming, moving or copying inside the Unity GUI. Won't get propagated to SVN.

4. sama-van

sama-van

I think Dropbox works better since it will not stop the update if there is a conflict in your Unity project.

5. Tysoe

Tysoe

moving, copying and renaming works ok here. Just make sure you go to "edit/Project settings/Editor" and that Version Control Support is enabled

Just don't commit or set these folders to ignore

\Library\metadata
    \Library\cache

But do commit the Library root with all the editor settings and you should be fine.

When you commit with ignore on, just commit the whole project folder, anything that was renamed or copied in the editor will show as missing. If you commit those then they are simply deleted and don't cause any problems.