Search Unity

Can I repeat a coroutine

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Photonphill, Apr 22, 2021.

1. Photonphill

Photonphill

Hi all,

I'm currently trying to make a simple object repeatedly pulse. I can get it to do it once using a coroutine that I found on youtube in which the instructor uses a collider and a mouse to trigger the pulse so it only occurs once. This is also the case when I run my script (i've not added the mouse trigger from the vid). I've lookied online but nobody seems to show how to repeat a coroutine. Is it possible? or is it better to attack the problem using a different method. I'm very new to coding and unity so i may have some extra stuff in my code that is not being used (public void maybe?). Any help would be much appreciated.
    the code I'm using is:

public class pulseObject : MonoBehaviour
    {
    private bool coroutineAllowed;

// Start is called before the first frame update
    void Start()
    {
    StartCoroutine("pulse");

}

public void StartPulse()
    {
    if (coroutineAllowed)
    {
    StartCoroutine("pulse");
    }
    }
    // Update is called once per frame
    private IEnumerator pulse()
    {
    coroutineAllowed = true;

for (float i = 0f; i <= 1f; i += 0.1f)
    {
    transform.localScale = new Vector3(
    (Mathf.Lerp(transform.localScale.x, transform.localScale.x + 1f, Mathf.SmoothStep(0f, 1f, i))),
    (Mathf.Lerp(transform.localScale.y, transform.localScale.y + 1f, Mathf.SmoothStep(0f, 1f, i))),
    (Mathf.Lerp(transform.localScale.z, transform.localScale.z + 1f, Mathf.SmoothStep(0f, 1f, i)))
    );
    yield return new WaitForSeconds(0.1f);
    }

for (float i = 0f; i <= 1f; i += 0.1f)
    {
    transform.localScale = new Vector3(
    (Mathf.Lerp(transform.localScale.x, transform.localScale.x - 1f, Mathf.SmoothStep(0f, 1f, i))),
    (Mathf.Lerp(transform.localScale.y, transform.localScale.y - 1f, Mathf.SmoothStep(0f, 1f, i))),