Search Unity

Feedback Can I Make Texture Generation Faster And Easier?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by njbrown, May 24, 2019.

?

Is this something you would use?

1. Yes

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. No

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. njbrown

njbrown

Hi. I have a side project geared towards making materials. It's in some ways similar to Substance Designer. My aim is to make generating PBR materials very simple and very easy.

The Problem:
    As a programmer, I find it difficult and very time consuming to build materials or anything art related; I'd either have to find premade ones i'm probably not satisfied with or learn how to make them myself. I want to be able to generate full PBR materials that i want in seconds.

The Solution:
    Make tools that allow me to build materials by matching surfaces to patterns.
    Here's a sample of one such tool (https://texturelab.io/tools/brick-builder):
    upload_2019-5-23_22-41-16.png

And if you want to further refine the texture then you can save it and edit its nodegraph (still under heavy development and requires you to create an account)
    (https://texturelab.io/texture/wjzo68mnmq/source):

If you're interested in seeing what I've made with the tools so far, there's a gallery. Some were build with the brick builder and others from scratch using the nodegraph. All of the materials there can be downloaded and imported directly into unity (https://texturelab.io/browse).

Here's what i want to know:
    Is this a problem worth solving?
    If so, is this a good approach or are there better ways?
    Would you pay for something like this?

I'd love to hear your feedback.

(The website currently works best using chrome)

Attached Files:

Ony and xVergilx like this.
  2. Billy4184

Billy4184